Posted by: Colby Johnson | December 24, 2008

Faith… Do you have it in you?

Simply put, Faith is a belief accompanied by action. In terms of the Gospel, it is not faith to only say that you believe in Christ, but ye must be doers of the word as well.

Recently I have been impressed with a tremendous act of faith that my little sister, Kelsey, is making. She has always been more naturally faithful than I have. In my youth, I often choose to learn things the hard way; despite my belief in Jesus Christ, I struggled to accompany that belief with actions, thus failing to have faith. I later developed a true faith in our Savior through making changes in my life and repenting of my sins. My sister on the other hand, has always accompanied her belief in Christ with an appropriate life style.

Recently she has been preparing herself to serve a voluntary mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, otherwise known as the Mormon Church. This process involves several personal interviews with church officials who stand as witnesses of her character and personal worthiness as well as numerous health examinations to determine if she is healthy. Following these, she fills out an application and submits it to the leaders of the church, the Prophet and Twelve Apostles. No where on this paper work is she able to indicate a preference of where she will serve as a missionary for a year and a half of her life. After the application is submitted, she anxiously waits to learn when and where she will live to complete her missionary service.

On Friday, October 24, 2008 my sister received a large white envelop in the mail which contained all of the details of her coming life as a missionary. Try to relate to this situation as you watch her open her call to serve.

Kelsey is literally turning her life over to Christ. For 18 months she will do nothing, but serve. As a missionary the first few hours of every morning will be spent studying the scriptures, following which she will be on her feet teaching people about Jesus Christ and serving.

Not only will Kelsey be going to a foreign land with an unfamiliar culture, but she will also be learning and speaking in a language she has had no exposure to. She will study the language for two months before she flies out to the Philippians and is thrown in the deep end. She will have to depend on the Grace of Jesus Christ to be able to acquire a language so rapidly.

I served a mission a few years ago in the greater Chicago area. It was the greatest experience of my life. My Faith in my Savior grew exponentially. I am so excited for my sister and proud of her.

Could you do this? Is your belief in Jesus Christ strong enough to dedicate a year and a half of your life to nothing else except for building the Kingdom of God? Please comment.

Responses

  1. Whooa I can feel the excitement she felt when she received her call and it’s so cool to see how excited missionaries are when they know that they will be serving in our country. I hope she’s having a good time serving and hopefully, just hopefully, since it seldom happens, that a sister missionary is assigned to our ward. I’m from Jaro, Iloilo by the way. It’s so cool to see this!


Leave a Reply

Categories

