Posted by: Colby Johnson | January 12, 2009

You have been Cordially Invited to Follow the Journey of Her life……

So what is this blog about?  My sister, Kelsey Johnson, has volonteered to serve a mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.  This process involves submitting an application and then getting assigned to live and work in an area for 18 months of her life, dedicating every waking moment to sharing the Gospel of Jesus Christ.  On this application, there is no opportunity to request an area to serve in.  The first post on this blog contains a youtube clip of her opening her mission call, you could only imagine how nerve racking it was for her to open that letter.  Well, she has been called to serve as a missionary in the Phillipines, Baccolod area!  

This will be quite an adventure for Kelsey; she will be a long way from home, it will be alot of hard work and long days, and it will take a lot of faith.  All in all it will be a life changing experience for her.  I served a mission for the church in Chicago, Illinois for 2 years, from 2004 through 2006; it was an incredible experience and has changed my life completly.

Our correspondence with her while she is away will be limited to letters and email; this blog will be updated with those letters which will contain her experiences, trials, and faith promoting stories.   I may also add some thoughts in my own words from time to time.  The purpose of this blog is primarily to keep all Kelsey’s friends and family updated on how she is doing, but hopefully it will become more than that.  Following Kelsey through the next 18 months andf watching her grow will hopefully cause us grow closer to the Lord and have our faith strengthed and testimony renewed.  All are invited to follow Kelsey through her journey, friend, family, and stranger alike!  Please share your comments of encouragement and love to strengthen and support Kelsey on her mission (those will be shared with her).  Also if you have any questions for her or questions about the Church, ask away.  For those who may be visiting who are unfamiliar with this blog thing (yes, you Grandma), there is a place to click at the end of each entry to share your comments.

I am so proud of my sister Kelsey for the faith that she has demonstrated by giving the Lord the reigns of her life for 18 months.  I am excited to watch her grow closer to the Lord through her experiences as I did when I served my mission in Chicago.  I love Kelsey very much and I love the Lord even more!  I have come to know from the depths of my heart that the Lord Jesus Christ is my personal Savior, as well as the Savior of the World.  I know it is only through the Atonement of Christ Jesus and obedience to his commandments that we may return to live with our Father in Heaven.  I also know that it is only through the gospel of Jesus Christ that we can find true happiness in this life and the life to come.

I hope all will join with me in supporting Kelsey while in the Phillipines.

Leave a Reply

Categories

