Posted by: Colby Johnson | January 19, 2009

The Decision to serve the Lord…

As many of you know, Kelsey reported for her mission wednesday the 14th of January.  Before she left I asked her to share with all of us why she chose to serve a mission for The Curch of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and the struggles she faced as she prepared.  This is what she had to say:

           ” At the strapping age of 21 when most girls are working on their degrees or getting married I have decided to drop everything I am leaving for a year and a half and serve the Lord.  I am going to a place I know very little of.  I will be thrust into this culture with two months of the language under my belt (not to mention once I get out there I will be expected to speak a completely different dialect then the one I will be learning!).  So the big question is why…  Why would somebody do that?  It seems to fall at an inconvenient time in life.  To put it simply…I love the Lord.  I want to help build up his kingdom here on this earth.  This religion has brought unspeakable joy into my life.  It fills my soul with peace and happiness.  I want so badly for others to partake. I want to invite them to come unto Christ and accept his Atonement in their lives.  I want to share with others that life doesn’t have to be so hard.  We are meant to live happily.  I want others to know that there is a life after this one.  We will be resurrected and be reunited with out loved ones again.  My Father in Heaven has been with me every step of the way and now this is my turn to pay him back.  

           ” It hasn’t been an easy trip to get to where I am today.  Upon receiving my call thoughts of doubt flooded my mind.  I felt so unworthy to go; It was a big mental battle.  I was caught off guard by this sudden intrusion of the adversary.  All growing up my testimony came so naturally.  I never had to worry about doubting and for it to finally come at this point was to say the least a little inconvenient.  I prayed and prayed for my Father in Heaven’s help but I could not feel him.  More doubt flooded my mind, but I told myself that no matter what I would keep trying. Just because I wasn’t getting an answer right then doesn’t mean he is not there.  So I continued on in prayer but I must admit it grew harder and harder with each non-response.  One night I was reading the Book of Mormon and I came across a verse that gave me a ray of hope.  It says “And now, I, Moroni, would speak somewhat concerning these things; I would show unto the world that faith is things which are hoped for and not seen; wherefore, dispute not because ye see not, for ye receive no witness until after the trial of your faith” (Ether 12:6).  These words brought great comfort to me and I knew I had to press on.  A few days later I finally received the answer I had so desperately been seeking.  Now I can boldly proclaim that this in fact is the true gospel for God has shown it unto me.  The Book of Mormon which was brought forth and translated by a prophet of God, Joseph Smith.  I know it to be a true record and upon reading it will bring you closer to Christ.  I also testify that you can receive a witness as I have to know if it is true.  This is not just a book but a book with a promise.  If you act on Moroni’s words and ask with real intent the Holy Ghost will manifest the truth of it unto you.  For the next year and a half while I am trudging through rice fields, taking bucket showers, having spiders crawl across my face… I will do it all with a smile because there is no greater joy then bringing people closer to Christ.”

Sincerly,

 Sister Kelsey Johnson

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

