Posted by: Susan Johnson | February 23, 2009

What’s the difference between your Prophet and the Pope?

Hey family!

 

   Its great to hear from you all as usual. Hey congrats Riley on becoming a priest! That is awesome! And I can’t wait to hear where Brady goes! That will be so exciting! I hope the Philippines! Then we could have secret conversations and nobody would know what we are saying! Hey have you followed up with riley and Brady’s coach yet??? Oh and mom can you forward me Hids emails please 🙂 get that from Becky! Also forward mine to her.

   This last week was…eventful! It started with our Tuesday night devotional. We were privileged to hear from Elder Ballard. It was soooooooo good napakagaling! He talked about how we as missionaries need to always have a positive attitude and be enthusiastic. It was exactly what I needed to hear and got me all fired up! His talk was good but the thing that stuck out to me the most was when he first entered the room. We were singing a prelude hymn and in he comes. I was overcome with the spirit. It bore witness to me that he was a man called of God. It was such a privlege!

     Event #2: Teaching sa Tagalog! It went well…very simple, very humble…I couldn’t understand most of what the person was saying but the spirit was there! That’s what matters! I hope to improve next time though. This week we will be teaching the first lesson again in Tagalog. It will be napakagaling!

     Event #3: Referral center. Friday morning is our time to go to the referral center. The referral center is where people call in wanting like a free BOM or bible or DVD. We also make outbound calls to check if people got their items. And we also do live chats with people that have questions. At first I didn’t like it because I have a phone phobia…and I mean what if they ask me questions–scary! haha just kidding, but then I decided that I’m a missionary now and missionaries are not supposed to be scared! So Friday the second I signed on and I mean the second I signed on my phone started ringing. I was a little frazzled and I was hitting buttons like mad but I ended up missing the call. After a few minutes the person called back. The lady that called wanted to talk to this one Sister but she wasn’t there so I was like would I be able to answer some of your questions? Then she proceeded to ask what is the difference between your prophet and the pope? My first response was to hang up the phone and just blame it on a bad connection but I decided that wouldn’t be the best response. You know what…that scripture is so true that says I will give it unto you what you should say in that very moment! It was so cool. We ended up having the most amazing conversation. We talked a lot about prophets and I related it back to the restoration and taught her a lot of the first lesson. We also talked about the Book of Mormon. I committed her to listen to the last talk given by President Monson called Finding Joy in the Journey. And I even managed to set up a return appointment! Hopefully we are going to talk next Friday and I will email her later this week to check up on her! I felt like a real missionary and it was awesome! I can’t wait to do this work! I am getting really anxious to get out there and start doing the work. I mean you can only talk about missionary work for so long without actually doing it! All in all it was an awesome experience.

     Event 4: You know you have been in the MTC for a long time when you hear the same fireside speaker speak TWICE! haha its ok– it was one of my favorite speakers, Brother Allen. He is super funny and always says the best things. Also guess what else…after today my district will be the oldest district! Can you believe that?? I can’t! It’s weird how time flies! 

    Event 5: So every Sunday for sacrament the branch president picks 2 random (I mean inspired by the lord) missionaries to give a 5 min. talk and its during sacrament that he announces it so everybody has to come prepared. Well my district is old enough now to be giving talks in tagalog. Yesterday I’m not gonna lie, I didn’t put a whole lot of effort into my talk because I figured President would just pick two people from the districts that are leaving today…well I was wrong! I was picked to speak. I had it all written out in tagalog but the problem was when I got up to speak I forgot what I had written down earlier so I hope it was a good talk! At the end I told a story in English and I don’t know what my problem was, I think the tagalog was messing with my head because when I spoke in English I totally butchered it…It was kind of funny. I hope the spirit was there! A lot of people after said I did a good job so that was comforting!

   Well that’s all for now! I love you and I hope all is well! Kitakits!

 

much mahal,

Sister Johnson

Leave a Reply

Categories

