Posted by: Susan Johnson | May 5, 2009

I Survived my First Transfer & Have a New Companion!

 

Hey Fam and friends-
   Wow what a crazy week it has been!! Wala companion dili maayo! I did not like being alone without a companion. (Of course I was never really alone, I always had somebody with me). I said good bye to my nanay Sister Abrao. She is home right now livin the R.M. life…whatever that is…I wouldn’t know. We dropped her off early Tuesday morning and then I was with the other sisters. For the next couple days it was planned for me to work in my area with the ward missionaries but…well…they aren’t the most reliable people — we will just put it that way…and I mean that in the nicest way of course!  I only ended up working with them on Wednesday and was with the other sisters for the rest. It was intense though on Wednesday because I had to lead the area and the teaching. I was sweating bullets big time. I feel like my language is really not very good and so having them there was intimidating so I was stumbling a lot. I was praying really hard for help and it never ceases to amaze me how every time I do that I always receive help! It is so amazing and I know that my Heavenly Father is with me every step of the way. Later that day the teachings went better and I was able to OYM (open your mouth) to some people and have a fluid conversation. It was fun because I was really able to connect with them. I love it when that happens it makes this work so much fun. 
   Finally transfers came on Friday and we left super early to go to Bacolod. My area, San Carlos (the best area by the way) is about 3 hours from Bacolod. So we got there and I got my new companion — Sister Cudac. Filipina siya. She is sooooooo awesome. I am soooooo excited to be her companion. I am going to learn a lot from her! She works hard and I really like how she teaches. There will be some challenges though because, like me, she doesn’t know Cebuano! Haha this will be fun. Did you know that in my mission there are 4 or 5 different languages! Unsa ma na! This will be a fun mission! My language is improving though and the only way I know that is I am able to follow peoples conversations more and more which is exciting. 
   MOM its Mothers Day next Sunday de ba??? That means I get to call you! I am so excited! So here is the deal. I will call you Monday morning my time which means it will be Sunday night your time so expect a call any time between 5 pm or later. And I want to talk to the whole fam so can we do the conference call thing again? I will be calling from a cell phone so it will probably work. I don’t think I can remember our home phone number so I think I will call dads cell. I only have 30-45 min so we have to do this fast and efficient. 
   Hey I’m excited to hear about Rhett and Alyssa. That is so awesome — congrats to them both. Mom you always tell me how awesome Krystal is doing but you never give me any details! Haha send me some stuff that she says. The work here in San Carlos is going great. I’m excited to work with my new companion to get things really going. This place has so much potential. I love it here. It is absolutely beautiful. I love it so much and the people are amazing! They are so nice and friendly. I know that this church is true. I know that we have a living prophet today who leads and guides us. I am so grateful for the knowledge I have of the gospel. It is so important that we endure to the end! We have the truth and the knowledge of what we need to do. Don’t lose sight of what is important. Don’t let Satan blind you from the ways of the Lord. How sad would it be to pass from this life and move to the next and stand before our creator and for him to look at us and not know us anymore because we didn’t continue in faith. I think that would be worse than not accepting the gospel in this life! Please always make sure you are doing all you can to strengthen your testimony. There is no such thing as a plateau. Padayon! The reason I say this is because it is sad how many people here fall away from the truth and become less active. It is so sad to me and I want to help them so bad! So please don’t let it happen to you!
-Sister Johnson
PS: Wobbs unsa ma na!! PS: Colby unsa ma na!! PS: you both are in trouble!
 

Hey Fam and friends-

   Wow what a crazy week it has been!! Wala companion dili maayo! I did not like being alone without a companion. (Of course I was never really alone, I always had somebody with me). I said good bye to my nanay Sister Abrao. She is home right now livin the R.M. life…whatever that is…I wouldn’t know. We dropped her off early Tuesday morning and then I was with the other sisters. For the next couple days it was planned for me to work in my area with the ward missionaries but…well…they aren’t the most reliable people — we will just put it that way…and I mean that in the nicest way of course!  I only ended up working with them on Wednesday and was with the other sisters for the rest. It was intense though on Wednesday because I had to lead the area and the teaching. I was sweating bullets big time. I feel like my language is really not very good and so having them there was intimidating so I was stumbling a lot. I was praying really hard for help and it never ceases to amaze me how every time I do that I always receive help! It is so amazing and I know that my Heavenly Father is with me every step of the way. Later that day the teachings went better and I was able to OYM (open your mouth) to some people and have a fluid conversation. It was fun because I was really able to connect with them. I love it when that happens it makes this work so much fun. 

   Finally transfers came on Friday and we left super early to go to Bacolod. My area, San Carlos (the best area by the way) is about 3 hours from Bacolod. So we got there and I got my new companion — Sister Cudac. Filipina siya. She is sooooooo awesome. I am soooooo excited to be her companion. I am going to learn a lot from her! She works hard and I really like how she teaches. There will be some challenges though because, like me, she doesn’t know Cebuano! Haha this will be fun. Did you know that in my mission there are 4 or 5 different languages! Unsa ma na! This will be a fun mission! My language is improving though and the only way I know that is I am able to follow peoples conversations more and more which is exciting. 

   MOM its Mothers Day next Sunday de ba??? That means I get to call you! I am so excited! So here is the deal. I will call you Monday morning my time which means it will be Sunday night your time so expect a call any time between 5 pm or later. And I want to talk to the whole fam so can we do the conference call thing again? I will be calling from a cell phone so it will probably work. I don’t think I can remember our home phone number so I think I will call dads cell. I only have 30-45 min so we have to do this fast and efficient. 

   Hey I’m excited to hear about Rhett and Alyssa. That is so awesome — congrats to them both. Mom you always tell me how awesome Krystal is doing but you never give me any details! Haha send me some stuff that she says. The work here in San Carlos is going great. I’m excited to work with my new companion to get things really going. This place has so much potential. I love it here. It is absolutely beautiful. I love it so much and the people are amazing! They are so nice and friendly. I know that this church is true. I know that we have a living prophet today who leads and guides us. I am so grateful for the knowledge I have of the gospel. It is so important that we endure to the end! We have the truth and the knowledge of what we need to do. Don’t lose sight of what is important. Don’t let Satan blind you from the ways of the Lord. How sad would it be to pass from this life and move to the next and stand before our creator and for him to look at us and not know us anymore because we didn’t continue in faith. I think that would be worse than not accepting the gospel in this life! Please always make sure you are doing all you can to strengthen your testimony. There is no such thing as a plateau. Padayon! The reason I say this is because it is sad how many people here fall away from the truth and become less active. It is so sad to me and I want to help them so bad! So please don’t let it happen to you!

-Sister Johnson

PS: Wobbs unsa ma na!! PS: Colby unsa ma na!! PS: You both are in trouble!

Responses

  1. OUR CHOICE

    If you had a choice, right now, to choose to be with Christ Jesus in heaven would you choose to do so? Being human and having the power of choice, can we choose to ask God to grant us a wish? You see, there are three realms, earth, heaven, and hell. We live on the earth in the now, and we believe, as Christians, that at some point Christ will return to the earth and judge us in the final days. Many of us will go to hell and the rest will live in heaven with Christ Jesus, our heavenly Father, and the Holy Spirit.

    Christ said: “And all things whatever you ask for in prayer, believing, you shall receive.”
    What if, we asked God to stop this game, that is being played out on earth, and grant us the one wish of living with him in heaven. What if, we choose to not allow Satan any more control over our lives and our future and made the decision to ask God to end this game, right now. What if we, as human beings, with the power of choice; made a conscious decision to choose Christ Jesus, right now, over the day to day challenges and temptations that Satan offers.

    Say, in 2015, 9 billion, or 8 billion or 5 billion people, Jews, Catholics, Baptists, Protestants, Jahovah Witnessers, Lutherians, Episcapalians, Muslims, Buddists, Hindu’s, and every other worshiper, got together on an Easter Sunday and prayed to God, asking him to bring on the end of days. We can asked Jesus Christ to come and bring us home to his kingdom in heaven, so that we can stop playing this earthly game. Would that become a challenge??

    Christ said: “And I say to you, ask, and it shall be given to you; seek, and you shall find; knock and it shall be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; and he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks it shall be opened.” Billions of people, acting as one, crying out to our heavenly Father, “Take us home.” OH GOD, take us from the land of the Pharaohs!!! Take us from the hands of evil and bring us home to your kingdom!!! Can we ask strong enough?? Can we ask hard enough??

    Christ said: “And in that day you shall ask me nothing. Amen, amen, I say to you, if you ask the Father anything in my name, he will give it to you. Hitherto you have not asked anything in my name. Ask, and you shall receive, that your joy may be full.” Do we want to be filled with eternal joy??

    Can you imagine how we can make this happen?? Can you understand the power that God has given us in order that we may choose our own destiny, right now. We don’t have to wait until tomorrow, while Satan tricks and traps millions more souls into the fires of hell!!! The decision is ours. Can we choose?? Can we make this happen?? Can we start a holy movement around the world and set the date of our going home???

    Christ said: ” I say to you further, that if two of you shall agree on earth about anything at all for which they ask, it shall be done for them by my Father in heaven. For where two or three are gathered together for my sake, there am I in the midst of them.”

    Take the poll! Express your belief! Give a contribution! Donate to this cause! Make it happen! Pass this message on to your friends and family.

    Come, Holy Spirit, fill the hearts of thy faithful and enkindle in them the fire of Thy love.

    jsolo
    worldpeaceandfinancialsecurity.blogspot.com

  2. Tell Kelsey I have written her literally every week and I’m sad she’s not getting my love! Her letters must be in the black abyss of snail mail!!! The mail man is in trouble not Wobbs!


Leave a Reply

Categories

