Posted by: Susan Johnson | June 23, 2009

I Was Being Laman & Lemuel (instead of Nephi)!

Maayong Odto! Or your time Maayong Gabii!!
How is life these days? Things are actually going really good for me right now! I am starting to love the work more and more. The past couple days I feel sooooo incredibly blessed by the Lord. I feel that He has loosened my mouth and cleared my head so I can produce sentences without much effort. It is so exciting to see and experience the gift of tongues in action. I am so grateful for the Lords mercy and patience with me. I had a realization this week that I think helped a lot with this particular blessing. I have been stressing about the language way too much and I kept making excuses of how I can’t do it. It’s kind of one of those things that is so big and overwhelming you don’t know where to start so you just don’t! Ha– well I I’m happy to say that I finally woke up and realized that I was being a Laman and Lemuel instead of a Nephi. I was murmuring and complaining when I needed to say I will go and I will do the things the Lord commands. This was enough to get me going so I have done away with English (most of the time), got some flash cards going and been listening intently. This willingness to act opened the door for the Lord to bless me. Needless to say I am learning to be a missionary. Becoming an effective servant of the Lord isn’t an overnight process.
So have you all been chomping at the bit to hear my exciting story? This is so awesome and proof that the Lord hears and answers our prayers. He is sooooo aware of us individually and all of our wants and needs. I have really gained a testimony of this. So Sister Cudac and I have been wanting to find a family to teach. We have been wanting to do this for a while now but weren’t taking it seriously until this last week. We even gave them a baptismal goal and everything without even meeting them yet. So we were tracting one day and we stopped this lady that was just leaving her house. We talked to her for a bit and then she
told us we could come in and share. It was the coolest thing every. She has 5 kids all above the age of 8 — the youngest being 10 and they all sat around and listened to  our message. Oh and their grandmother that lives next door joined us. She is like 75 and as sharp as a tack! She has some spunk which is so fun and the best part is she can read! Wala sakit sa mata! This is something I haven’t experienced before. Usually the kids are running around this way and that. They were so receptive too. Then last Monday we had FHE with them and some members. That was a lot of fun. We played some games and mom we played a game with the candy ring pops you sent me and the kids loved it so thanks! Then we have been visiting them regularly ever since! They all read and have been having family prayer too! This family is golden and I almost hate to say that because I don’t want anything to jinx it. Last night was one of the best
visits. We watched the restoration video in Cebuano. It was so powerful and they were able to feel something. They even said there is something different about our message then any other they have listened to! I get so excited to go over to their house every time and when we leave Sister Cudac and I are so giddy! Haha I know this work is true. I feel so privileged to be a part of it even with all of my weaknesses.  I am so grateful for the Lords blessing and his strength that he gives to me!
Oh our baptisms this last weekend! How did they go you ask?? Well they didn’t — but next week for sure! Haha I love it here in the Philippines. If everything goes according to plan next week we will have 2 weddings, 4 baptisms, a branch missionary activity, oh and a mission conference where we go to Bacolod. Nindot! This is President Daguioags last week here and then we get our new mission president– President Tobias. He is from Manilla I think but other then that– that is all I know. We will find out more at mission conference on Saturday!
Hey I have been dying to know how Kevin and Kimmies wedding went!!! Please give me the update with all of the juicy details hid and wobbs!!! I am so excited for him and hope everything went well! Hid how are ya? I hope you are doing well! Have you found any answers yet on whether you are going back out or not? Keep me posted. Hey if you get a chance read the conference talk given by Elder Christofersen given in the last conference called finding strength in our covenants or something like that. It is awesome. Oh and have you read the one by Elder Holland…oh boy words don’t describe how amazingly powerful that talk is. I love you girl! Wobbs!! And how are you doing?? How is home! I pray that you are being a light and example to your family! How are they. I hope all is well with you too. Hey how as California with Liz and Disneyland. That sounds like so much fun! I love you to pieces girl!! Hey bird (Brady)! I am sooooo excited for you. I seriously think about you every day and the experiences that you are having. I pray for you that you are receiving
strength. I know that the first couple of weeks can be rough. Hang in there and do all you can to be PATIENT WITH YOURSELF. This is something I am learning in a big way. It takes time. Love ya bird! You are awesome and will be an awesome missionary– I know it.
Gihigugma kamo ko!
Sister Johnson

Maayong Odto! Or your time Maayong Gabii!!

How is life these days? Things are actually going really good for me right now! I am starting to love the work more and more. The past couple days I feel sooooo incredibly blessed by the Lord. I feel that He has loosened my mouth and cleared my head so I can produce sentences without much effort. It is so exciting to see and experience the gift of tongues in action. I am so grateful for the Lords mercy and patience with me. I had a realization this week that I think helped a lot with this particular blessing. I have been stressing about the language way too much and I kept making excuses of how I can’t do it. It’s kind of one of those things that is so big and overwhelming you don’t know where to start so you just don’t! Ha– well I I’m happy to say that I finally woke up and realized that I was being a Laman and Lemuel instead of a Nephi. I was murmuring and complaining when I needed to say I will go and I will do the things the Lord commands. This was enough to get me going so I have done away with English (most of the time), got some flash cards going and been listening intently. This willingness to act opened the door for the Lord to bless me. Needless to say I am learning to be a missionary. Becoming an effective servant of the Lord isn’t an overnight process.

So have you all been chomping at the bit to hear my exciting story? This is so awesome and proof that the Lord hears and answers our prayers. He is sooooo aware of us individually and all of our wants and needs. I have really gained a testimony of this. So Sister Cudac and I have been wanting to find a family to teach. We have been wanting to do this for a while now but weren’t taking it seriously until this last week. We even gave them a baptismal goal and everything without even meeting them yet. So we were tracting one day and we stopped this lady that was just leaving her house. We talked to her for a bit and then she told us we could come in and share. It was the coolest thing every. She has 5 kids all above the age of 8 — the youngest being 10 and they all sat around and listened to  our message. Oh and their grandmother that lives next door joined us. She is like 75 and as sharp as a tack! She has some spunk which is so fun and the best part is she can read! Wala sakit sa mata! This is something I haven’t experienced before. Usually the kids are running around this way and that. They were so receptive too. Then last Monday we had FHE with them and some members. That was a lot of fun. We played some games and mom we played a game with the candy ring pops you sent me and the kids loved it so thanks! Then we have been visiting them regularly ever since! They all read and have been having family prayer too! This family is golden and I almost hate to say that because I don’t want anything to jinx it. Last night was one of the best visits. We watched the restoration video in Cebuano. It was so powerful and they were able to feel something. They even said there is something different about our message then any other they have listened to! I get so excited to go over to their house every time and when we leave Sister Cudac and I are so giddy! Haha I know this work is true. I feel so privileged to be a part of it even with all of my weaknesses.  I am so grateful for the Lords blessing and his strength that he gives to me!

Oh our baptisms this last weekend! How did they go you ask?? Well they didn’t — but next week for sure! Haha I love it here in the Philippines. If everything goes according to plan next week we will have 2 weddings, 4 baptisms, a branch missionary activity, oh and a mission conference where we go to Bacolod. Nindot! This is President Daguioags last week here and then we get our new mission president– President Tobias. He is from Manilla I think but other then that– that is all I know. We will find out more at mission conference on Saturday!

Hey I have been dying to know how Kevin and Kimmies wedding went!!! Please give me the update with all of the juicy details hid and wobbs!!! I am so excited for him and hope everything went well! Hid how are ya? I hope you are doing well! Have you found any answers yet on whether you are going back out or not? Keep me posted. Hey if you get a chance read the conference talk given by Elder Christofersen given in the last conference called finding strength in our covenants or something like that. It is awesome. Oh and have you read the one by Elder Holland…oh boy words don’t describe how amazingly powerful that talk is. I love you girl! Wobbs!! And how are you doing?? How is home! I pray that you are being a light and example to your family! How are they. I hope all is well with you too. Hey how as California with Liz and Disneyland. That sounds like so much fun! I love you to pieces girl!! Hey bird (Brady)! I am sooooo excited for you. I seriously think about you every day and the experiences that you are having. I pray for you that you are receiving strength. I know that the first couple of weeks can be rough. Hang in there and do all you can to be PATIENT WITH YOURSELF. This is something I am learning in a big way. It takes time. Love ya bird! You are awesome and will be an awesome missionary– I know it.

Gihigugma kamo ko!

Sister Johnson

Responses

  1. “Becoming an effective servant of the Lord isn’t an overnight process.”

    You’re right about this. It requires a lot of effort, time and courage to prepare and be indeed prepared to serve the Lord.

    I’m glad to know that you’re having a good time in the field. Hope President Tobias will be as awesome as President Daquiaog is. 🙂

  2. I sort of literally stalking this blog already! LOL

    Thanks for sharing your experiences in the field. Hope that you’ll continually have that great enthusiasm in the work of the Lord.


Leave a Reply

Categories

