Posted by: Susan Johnson | June 29, 2009

Two Weddings/Four Baptisms!

Heeeeellooooo one and all!
Things are going splendid here in San Carlos. It is charter day this week of July which means it is the day that the city of San Carlos was organized or something like that. Needless to say people are preparing for a big fiesta. They have a lot of fiestas here in the Philippines! It seems like every other day there is one going on! Sister McBride the Folsoms and I will be celebrating the 4th of July on our own – hurray for the USA! Haha probably not. We will just work gihapon.
As I mentioned before, last week was a busy week! Especially from Friday to Sunday. It was really really good though. So Friday we traveled to Bacolod which is about 2 hr. drive from San Carlos on real bumpy, windy, curvy roads that will make your insides turn — and one of the sisters insides turned a little too much and we had to pull over –  and if any of you know me well…haha it was a good time to practice self control! So we finally made it to Bacolod for mission conference. All the missionaries on Negros island were there which was about half. It was fun. I got to see my fellow missionaries from the MTC so it was
good to follow up with them and see how they are doing. I got called on to give a small gospel talk right before so I was scrambling to put things together. It ended up not being too bad. It was about teaching with the spirit – so needless to say, I was relying heavily on the spirit. Oh and quick funny story this was President and Sister Daquioag’s last conference (they go home this week) and before Sister Daquioag asked me if I would lead the music to our mission song and she said they would be recording it. Haha well I really can’t lead at all so
I had to put my head down and sadly decline the offer. It would not have been a pretty sight if I was up there trying to keep the beat! Anywho the conference was great. We were able to be spiritually uplifted and the things that president and Sister Daquioag said in their closing remarks were really inspiring. I’m grateful for them and the time that they spent serving here. I’m sad to see them go but at the same time excited for the new mission president.
So that was Friday. Saturday was crazy too. We started out with a branch missionary activity to build unity. We played some spiritual games – like scripture hunts and stuff. Then Sister Cudac and I gave a lesson. It was good for them. I really like the branch missionaries here. They are willing to work with us and do. They always have such strong testimonies and I am sooooo grateful for their service. Right after that we had our two weddings. Definitely not anything grandiose but nindot gihapon (great just the same). I was soooo excited for the two couples getting married. They are people that I have really grown close to – the Baquias and Rusty. Right after the wedding we had their baptisms plus one extra – Junlin. He is a 14 year old boy we have been teaching. So all together it was Rusty (his wife is a member) both of the Baquias and Junlin. I love baptisms so much! I always feel sooooo happy and excited for them. It strengthens my testimony every time and I know that this work is true. The only bad part of the day was my poor companion. I felt so bad for her because she was not feeling well all day and between the wedding and baptisms we were running to the bathroom periodically so she could – you know do that thing that I hate and that I have a phobia of. She was strong though and was able to make it all the way through. Right after though we blitzed back to the apartment and called it a night.
Sunday was sooooo awesome. Over the past couple of days I really felt out of the swing of the whole missionary thing but quickly jumped back in. Our numbers were really low for the week and we really wanted to get our goals so Sister Cudac and I decided to go on splits. I went with a branch missionary and so did she so we could cover more ground. It is a little intimidating going off by myself but the sister I was with is so much fun. I EVEN GOT TO TEACH IN ENGLISH!!! Haha it was sooooo exciting! I can’t quite put it in words, but man it is so much nicer when you can understand everything that is going on. I really really need to work on my comprehension skills! There is a family in our ward that has a granddaughter from California who is here to go to school and she is
not a member! It was such a good lesson to. The spirit was so strong. She has sooo much potential. She comes from a troubled background and I know with a surety that if she accepts the gospel in her life it will literally give her new life. That’s what kind of power religion gives you. It’s not just basta basta. We have the gospel so that we can be as happy as we can here on earth even through the hard times. By the end of the day, Sister Cudac and I had 11 lessons with a member present! It was so awesome.
Yes mom we are still teaching the golden family. They are so awesome. They have not come to church yet but next Sunday for sure! We are also teaching another family…the Delupenias (with a squiggly sign over the n). Sister Delupenia…Elcey is her name…kinda like Kels…oh wait I mean Sister Johnson’s first name. Anywho get this – she is a single mother with 13 kids!!! Whoa. She is so strong and has strong faith in God. I really hope she does the things that we encourage her to do because I know that the gospel can help her. She has next to nothing but still gets by. She is scared to go to church because not all of her kids have
shoes to wear. Kalooy sa ila. That pretty much wraps up this week. I love you all sooo much and am soooo grateful for your prayers and support. Seriously it helps.
Sister J
PS: Dad no worries about the music situation. Sister Cudac and I have some tunes now.
PS: Wobbs I love you sooooo much. I just got another one of your picture
letters.!! It was so awesome. I loved every word and every punctuation and every picture on those pages! You are the woman. I pray for you girl and be expecting a letter from me shortly. I sent one last week. Hey if you could please send an update of the wedding! I want all the juicies!
PS: Hid. Girl girl girl I love you too!!! And miss you tons! For real! I do pray for you. And thank you so much for your constant support. Thank you so much for taking time to email me. I get sooo excited to get your updates and to see how you are doing! Keep going. I know that God knows you and is there for you. I know for sure he hears and answers your prayers. You are such a strong example to me. You are just awesome!

Heeeeellooooo one and all!

Things are going splendid here in San Carlos. It is charter day this week of July which means it is the day that the city of San Carlos was organized or something like that. Needless to say people are preparing for a big fiesta. They have a lot of fiestas here in the Philippines! It seems like every other day there is one going on! Sister McBride the Folsoms and I will be celebrating the 4th of July on our own – hurray for the USA! Haha probably not. We will just work gihapon.

As I mentioned before, last week was a busy week! Especially from Friday to Sunday. It was really really good though. So Friday we traveled to Bacolod which is about 2 hr. drive from San Carlos on real bumpy, windy, curvy roads that will make your insides turn — and one of the sisters insides turned a little too much and we had to pull over –  and if any of you know me well…haha it was a good time to practice self control! So we finally made it to Bacolod for mission conference. All the missionaries on Negros island were there which was about half. It was fun. I got to see my fellow missionaries from the MTC so it was good to follow up with them and see how they are doing. I got called on to give a small gospel talk right before so I was scrambling to put things together. It ended up not being too bad. It was about teaching with the spirit – so needless to say, I was relying heavily on the spirit. Oh and quick funny story this was President and Sister Daquioag’s last conference (they go home this week) and before Sister Daquioag asked me if I would lead the music to our mission song and she said they would be recording it. Haha well I really can’t lead at all so I had to put my head down and sadly decline the offer. It would not have been a pretty sight if I was up there trying to keep the beat! Anywho the conference was great. We were able to be spiritually uplifted and the things that President and Sister Daquioag said in their closing remarks were really inspiring. I’m grateful for them and the time that they spent serving here. I’m sad to see them go but at the same time excited for the new mission president.

So that was Friday. Saturday was crazy too. We started out with a branch missionary activity to build unity. We played some spiritual games – like scripture hunts and stuff. Then Sister Cudac and I gave a lesson. It was good for them. I really like the branch missionaries here. They are willing to work with us and do. They always have such strong testimonies and I am sooooo grateful for their service. Right after that we had our two weddings. Definitely not anything grandiose but nindot gihapon (great just the same). I was soooo excited for the two couples getting married. They are people that I have really grown close to – the Baquias and Rusty. Right after the wedding we had their baptisms plus one extra – Junlin. He is a 14 year old boy we have been teaching. So all together it was Rusty (his wife is a member) both of the Baquias and Junlin. I love baptisms so much! I always feel sooooo happy and excited for them. It strengthens my testimony every time and I know that this work is true. The only bad part of the day was my poor companion. I felt so bad for her because she was not feeling well all day and between the wedding and baptisms we were running to the bathroom periodically so she could – you know do that thing that I hate and that I have a phobia of. She was strong though and was able to make it all the way through. Right after though we blitzed back to the apartment and called it a night.

Sunday was sooooo awesome. Over the past couple of days I really felt out of the swing of the whole missionary thing but quickly jumped back in. Our numbers were really low for the week and we really wanted to get our goals so Sister Cudac and I decided to go on splits. I went with a branch missionary and so did she so we could cover more ground. It is a little intimidating going off by myself but the sister I was with is so much fun. I EVEN GOT TO TEACH IN ENGLISH!!! Haha it was sooooo exciting! I can’t quite put it in words, but man it is so much nicer when you can understand everything that is going on. I really really need to work on my comprehension skills! There is a family in our ward that has a granddaughter from California who is here to go to school and she is not a member! It was such a good lesson to. The spirit was so strong. She has sooo much potential. She comes from a troubled background and I know with a surety that if she accepts the gospel in her life it will literally give her new life. That’s what kind of power religion gives you. It’s not just basta basta. We have the gospel so that we can be as happy as we can here on earth even through the hard times. By the end of the day, Sister Cudac and I had 11 lessons with a member present! It was so awesome.

Yes mom we are still teaching the golden family. They are so awesome. They have not come to church yet but next Sunday for sure! We are also teaching another family…the Delupenias (with a squiggly sign over the n). Sister Delupenia…Elcey is her name…kinda like Kels…oh wait I mean Sister Johnson’s first name. Anywho get this – she is a single mother with 13 kids!!! Whoa. She is so strong and has strong faith in God. I really hope she does the things that we encourage her to do because I know that the gospel can help her. She has next to nothing but still gets by. She is scared to go to church because not all of her kids have shoes to wear. Kalooy sa ila. That pretty much wraps up this week. I love you all sooo much and am soooo grateful for your prayers and support. Seriously it helps.

Sister J

PS: Dad no worries about the music situation. Sister Cudac and I have some tunes now.

PS: Wobbs I love you sooooo much. I just got another one of your picture letters.!! It was so awesome. I loved every word and every punctuation and every picture on those pages! You are the woman. I pray for you girl and be expecting a letter from me shortly. I sent one last week. Hey if you could please send an update of the wedding! I want all the juicies!

PS: Hid. Girl girl girl I love you too!!! And miss you tons! For real! I do pray for you. And thank you so much for your constant support. Thank you so much for taking time to email me. I get sooo excited to get your updates and to see how you are doing! Keep going. I know that God knows you and is there for you. I know for sure he hears and answers your prayers. You are such a strong example to me. You are just awesome!

Responses

  1. Sis. Johnson,
    Its so good to read your blog. I am so happy and envy at the same time that you are in my birth country and yet I have not been in alot of these places. I’m so glad to hear that all is well w/ you. James also recieve his mission call last Fri.(6/26/09) He is going to Honduras Sad Pedro Sula Spanish speaking Mission. He can feel your struggles with the language. We are so proud of your choices. Keep up the great work. God Speed.

    Love,

    Emy Krauss

  2. Thought I’d let you know that I saw a group picture of you together with Elder Ford and Elder Ontoria. The latter even said, “Ah ang Johnson nga gwapa”..LOL (Oh, the pretty Johnson)

    I’m happy that you are enjoying your time in San Carlos. I think they speak Cebuano there, right? Hope you’d get to be assigned here in Jaro, Iloilo too. hehe

    Sige halong sa work!


Leave a Reply

Categories

