Posted by: Colby Johnson | August 5, 2009

Rat Presents will be Gifted to Someone Else!!!

Hey family and friends!
How goes it?  Para sa akon nami gid!  I am loving it her in Bago!  Seriously the people are so sooooo friendly!  I love it.  Since I have been here just a short time my love for the people has seriously grown so much!  They are so fun.  The only problem is that since I got here it has not stopped raining!!!  It rains like mad here and it doesn’t help that I gave my little green umbrella to a member in San Carlos. I can never seem to get dry…so right after email I will go and buy an umbrella and some rubber shoes so I can actually have dry feet! 🙂 My companion is awesome too — Sister Tali. buang kaayo pero ok-lang sadja gihapon! We have a lot of fun with the investigators and members.
Guess what — so you remember how I told you about our apartment? Seriously it is a…well not the best place. Rats run around everywhere all over the counters and leave little presents behind.  Plus ants like crazy and cockroaches and mesquitos. It’s hard to feel the spirit because it feels so dirty all the time.  Well anywho good news –  we are moving! Today! We got a new apartment which is way better and I am soooooo excited to leave! Hopefully we can have a new flood of inspiration now! 🙂
This last week was Stake Conference which was sooooo good! Elder Teeh from the 70 came and spoke to us. Also they reorganized the Stake Presidency. Their messages were soooo good! Especially Elder Teeh’s medjio sakit pero importante para sa mga members. And I want to reiterate (that’s a 5 dollar English word!) His message will be my message to you all. He first started out by saying that it is the parents responsibility to teach their children the principles of the gospel – not the church. We can’t turn them over to the church and expect our kids leaders to do our job. That is why family home evening and other family activities are so important. Elder Teeh had everyone ask themselves in their heart if they were making an honest effort to have family home evening. If not then you are not taking your responsibility of teaching your kids seriously and you need to repent and start now.  He talked about how it’s not enough for members of the church to attend sacrament meeting and then return home and do nothing for the rest of the week. There is a difference in faithful members of the church and just active members of the church. If we just go to church and not do the others things like scripture study and prayer then we won’t amount to anything. We must not only be hearers of the word but doers. Yes it takes work, yes it takes sacrifice, but this is eternal life we are talking about – its supposed to be that way! Earth life is the time for us to prove ourselves that we can live with God again. We have to be our best selves and constantly strive to APPLY the doctrines that we read about in the scriptures. And then, I love this, he related it to the parable of the wise man and the foolish man. Members of the church that do not actively live their religion are the foolish man. They build their house on the sand. They think that that is good enough and that their house will stand but when the floods come, it washes away. We can’t let Satan deceive us that we are doing enough and that it’s ok to just have a testimony and not do anything to actively build it. Then the faithful members are the ones that build their house upon the rock. The ones that actively pay tithing, fast, follow the commandments, and apply the atonement daily in their lives. It’s their house that will withstand the storms until the end of time. So for all of you that are reading this right now I want you to honestly ask yourselves in your heart who are you…the foolish man or the wise man? If its the first, then you must repent and start now. That is the best part of the plan of God. We have the atonement that gives hope to us all. It’s never too late to start walking on the path of decipleship. Well I think I will get off my soap box now. I hope you guys are able to learn something from that 🙂
The work is going great! There is so much potential here and I am excited to get the work going. Well I wish I could write more but my time is short. next time na lang!
Love Sister Johnson and Johnson baby powder (the Filippinos get a kick out of that every time I say it. Everyone here uses Johnson and Johnson products.)
PS: I think I might die because I haven’t heard from Heidi or Robin in forever…ok that was a little dramatic haha but for rills!
PSS: Sister Becky Anna Roper!! Thank you so much for the email! I seriously loved it so much. It really means a lot to me some of the things you said! I miss your family a ton but it’s good to hear that you all are well! 🙂 continue to take care of Hid – I know its a big job! She is like a disaster looking for a place to happen! 🙂 Just kidding she is like the most perfect child I know!

Hey family and friends!

How goes it?  Para sa akon nami gid!  I am loving it her in Bago!  Seriously the people are so sooooo friendly!  I love it.  Since I have been here just a short time my love for the people has seriously grown so much!  They are so fun.  The only problem is that since I got here it has not stopped raining!!!  It rains like mad here and it doesn’t help that I gave my little green umbrella to a member in San Carlos. I can never seem to get dry…so right after email I will go and buy an umbrella and some rubber shoes so I can actually have dry feet! 🙂 My companion is awesome too — Sister Tali. buang kaayo pero ok-lang sadja gihapon! We have a lot of fun with the investigators and members.

Guess what — so you remember how I told you about our apartment? Seriously it is a…well not the best place. Rats run around everywhere all over the counters and leave little presents behind.  Plus ants like crazy and cockroaches and mesquitos. It’s hard to feel the spirit because it feels so dirty all the time.  Well anywho good news –  we are moving! Today! We got a new apartment which is way better and I am soooooo excited to leave! Hopefully we can have a new flood of inspiration now! 🙂

This last week was Stake Conference which was sooooo good! Elder Teeh from the 70 came and spoke to us. Also they reorganized the Stake Presidency. Their messages were soooo good! Especially Elder Teeh’s medjio sakit pero importante para sa mga members. And I want to reiterate (that’s a 5 dollar English word!) His message will be my message to you all. He first started out by saying that it is the parents responsibility to teach their children the principles of the gospel – not the church. We can’t turn them over to the church and expect our kids leaders to do our job. That is why family home evening and other family activities are so important. Elder Teeh had everyone ask themselves in their heart if they were making an honest effort to have family home evening. If not then you are not taking your responsibility of teaching your kids seriously and you need to repent and start now.  He talked about how it’s not enough for members of the church to attend sacrament meeting and then return home and do nothing for the rest of the week. There is a difference in faithful members of the church and just active members of the church. If we just go to church and not do the others things like scripture study and prayer then we won’t amount to anything. We must not only be hearers of the word but doers. Yes it takes work, yes it takes sacrifice, but this is eternal life we are talking about – its supposed to be that way! Earth life is the time for us to prove ourselves that we can live with God again. We have to be our best selves and constantly strive to APPLY the doctrines that we read about in the scriptures. And then, I love this, he related it to the parable of the wise man and the foolish man. Members of the church that do not actively live their religion are the foolish man. They build their house on the sand. They think that that is good enough and that their house will stand but when the floods come, it washes away. We can’t let Satan deceive us that we are doing enough and that it’s ok to just have a testimony and not do anything to actively build it. Then the faithful members are the ones that build their house upon the rock. The ones that actively pay tithing, fast, follow the commandments, and apply the atonement daily in their lives. It’s their house that will withstand the storms until the end of time. So for all of you that are reading this right now I want you to honestly ask yourselves in your heart who are you…the foolish man or the wise man? If its the first, then you must repent and start now. That is the best part of the plan of God. We have the atonement that gives hope to us all. It’s never too late to start walking on the path of decipleship. Well I think I will get off my soap box now. I hope you guys are able to learn something from that 🙂  The work is going great! There is so much potential here and I am excited to get the work going. Well I wish I could write more but my time is short. next time na lang!

Love Sister Johnson and Johnson baby powder (the Filippinos get a kick out of that every time I say it. Everyone here uses Johnson and Johnson products.)

PS: I think I might die because I haven’t heard from Heidi or Robin in forever…ok that was a little dramatic haha but for rills!

PSS: Sister Becky Anna Roper!! Thank you so much for the email! I seriously loved it so much. It really means a lot to me some of the things you said! I miss your family a ton but it’s good to hear that you all are well! 🙂 continue to take care of Hid – I know its a big job! She is like a disaster looking for a place to happen! 🙂 Just kidding she is like the most perfect child I know!

Responses

  1. I cant get a letter to her write now but can someone just tell her that I say hi and I miss her dearly. :), thanks

    Manda


Leave a Reply

Categories

