Posted by: Colby Johnson | August 10, 2009

The Kids Love Petting my Hairy Arms!

Hola como estas pamilyia?…wait that was Spanish sorry!
Sooooo how are you all doing? I am doing great! We just got back from a zone activity where we played games and ate and played some basketball and ultimate frisbee. It was a lot of fun especially playing basketball. The work is going great here in Bago. I am really excited because the Lord blesses us so much. This last weekend we had two baptisms! Sister Mary-Ann and Sister Jean-Rose. They are so awesome and super solid in the church. I’m also really excited for our new investigators. We have been finding a lot lately and it has paid off. The Lord has lead us to those that have been prepared. Like the other day we had just finished with teaching and when we were about to leave we felt that we should go tracting for a second. The next thing we know,
we are teaching this family with 3 daughters and the next day they came to church with us! It was so exciting. I am excited to follow up with them.
Well family I know that this church is true. I was just thinking about it today and how much I love it. It fills me with so much joy!
So I have a funny experience and a spiritual experience. I’ll do funny first and then spiritual. So haha I don’t know if I have told you guys this yet but when I first got here Sister Tali and I called a tricycle over so we could saykay (travel) to our next appointment and this guy pulls up and I’m not even kidding – he had the biggest finger I have ever seen in my entire life! I’m talking this thing was massive. Probably as big as my foot! He only had 4 fingers but one of them was just big. I was sitting closest to him and I couldn’t stop staring! It
reminded me of that boogy-man costume we had with the fake hands that were huge. Good times! It was an unforgettable ride. Oh wait I have one more funny story. It’s funny because the little kids here are fascinated with my skin. They always touch my arms and they are amazed that I have that much hair on them (If you have forgotten I have really hairy arms -that’s where “Squatch” comes from :)…and the people here are just not hairy people). Well anywho, so I was talking to these one kids who were
petting my arms and they told me that my skin looked dao baboy which is pig! So yes it is official I look like a pig! Haha now when I meet kids that like my arms I tell them that and they get a kick out of it…okay so those stories weren’t that funny sorry.
Anywho now for spiritual. So grabi this week I have been feeling really down on myself. Every once in a while I get into these funks that is hard to get out of. This time I was just getting way too down on myself. One of the biggest things that I have struggled with every since I stepped foot in the MTC is living up to my own expectations. The missionary I want to be and wish I was is unfortunately, not the missionary I am right now…so needless to say I get down on myself, but in the midst of all of my frustration a scripture came into my mind that has changed everything for me and changed my whole perspective. Funny
enough it is one that has always stuck with my ever since my seminary days and I think about it a lot but this time it had new meaning for me. It’s Provebs 3:5-6 – “trust in the Lord with all thine heart and lean not unto thy own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him and he shall direct thy paths.” As I started thinking about that verse it’s like a huge weight was lifted off of my shoulders and I felt so free. I have been trying and trying to figure things out on my own and not just relaxing and trusting in the Lord. Later on in personal study I read in 2 Nephi 4 where Nephi was going through some of the same things I was
feeling but even in the midst of his sorrow he says :but never the less I know in whom I have trusted. My God hath been my support. Nami gid. So for now I am just giving it all to the Lord. I am so far from perfect or where I want to be but I know that if I continue to trust in the Lord and obey the commandments, He will make weak things become strong. I’m so grateful for this mission experience. It truly is the hardest thing I have ever done. I am experiencing so much and facing so many trials but I know that it is for my good. I’m so grateful for you all and the love and support that you give me. I think about you all a lot and always wonder what you guys are doing…(mostly in my sleep) but nevertheless I haven’t forgotten about you and pray for you often. I love you all and Halong until next week!
Sister Johnson
PS: Our new apartment (on Matti street for Kari-Lynn if that is where your apartment was) is sooooo much better and we can feel the spirit! True we do have mysterious puddles that show up in our bedroom that we have no idea where it comes from but its better than the dungeon kitchen and no flushable toilet!! haha
PS: Thank you thank you thank you Hid for writing me! I am sooooo excited to read it! Your letters always help me so much and make me feel good. I was beginning to think that you guys had forgotten about me. I miss you guys soooo much but I know that the day will come where we can meet again and oh boy the world won’t know what hit them! Haha take care I love you! And tell Wobbs to write me!! For all I know she is living in Paris right now looking at art and doing whatever you do in Paris. Or working some odd job like cleaning Orangatang monkey cages and getting paid like 20 dollars an hour!
.

Hola como estas pamilyia?…wait that was Spanish sorry!

Sooooo how are you all doing? I am doing great! We just got back from a zone activity where we played games and ate and played some basketball and ultimate frisbee. It was a lot of fun especially playing basketball. The work is going great here in Bago. I am really excited because the Lord blesses us so much. This last weekend we had two baptisms! Sister Mary-Ann and Sister Jean-Rose. They are so awesome and super solid in the church. I’m also really excited for our new investigators. We have been finding a lot lately and it has paid off. The Lord has lead us to those that have been prepared. Like the other day we had just finished with teaching and when we were about to leave we felt that we should go tracting for a second. The next thing we know, we are teaching this family with 3 daughters and the next day they came to church with us! It was so exciting. I am excited to follow up with them.

Well family I know that this church is true. I was just thinking about it today and how much I love it. It fills me with so much joy!  So I have a funny experience and a spiritual experience. I’ll do funny first and then spiritual. So haha I don’t know if I have told you guys this yet but when I first got here Sister Tali and I called a tricycle over so we could saykay (travel) to our next appointment and this guy pulls up and I’m not even kidding – he had the biggest finger I have ever seen in my entire life! I’m talking this thing was massive. Probably as big as my foot! He only had 4 fingers but one of them was just big. I was sitting closest to him and I couldn’t stop staring! It reminded me of that boogy-man costume we had with the fake hands that were huge. Good times! It was an unforgettable ride. Oh wait I have one more funny story. It’s funny because the little kids here are fascinated with my skin. They always touch my arms and they are amazed that I have that much hair on them (If you have forgotten I have really hairy arms -that’s where “Squatch” comes from :)…and the people here are just not hairy people). Well anywho, so I was talking to these one kids who were petting my arms and they told me that my skin looked dao baboy which is pig! So yes it is official I look like a pig! Haha now when I meet kids that like my arms I tell them that and they get a kick out of it…okay so those stories weren’t that funny sorry.

Anywho now for spiritual. So grabi this week I have been feeling really down on myself. Every once in a while I get into these funks that is hard to get out of. This time I was just getting way too down on myself. One of the biggest things that I have struggled with every since I stepped foot in the MTC is living up to my own expectations. The missionary I want to be and wish I was is unfortunately, not the missionary I am right now…so needless to say I get down on myself, but in the midst of all of my frustration a scripture came into my mind that has changed everything for me and changed my whole perspective. Funny enough it is one that has always stuck with my ever since my seminary days and I think about it a lot but this time it had new meaning for me. It’s Provebs 3:5-6 – “trust in the Lord with all thine heart and lean not unto thy own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him and he shall direct thy paths.” As I started thinking about that verse it’s like a huge weight was lifted off of my shoulders and I felt so free. I have been trying and trying to figure things out on my own and not just relaxing and trusting in the Lord. Later on in personal study I read in 2 Nephi 4 where Nephi was going through some of the same things I was feeling but even in the midst of his sorrow he says :but never the less I know in whom I have trusted. My God hath been my support. Nami gid. So for now I am just giving it all to the Lord. I am so far from perfect or where I want to be but I know that if I continue to trust in the Lord and obey the commandments, He will make weak things become strong. I’m so grateful for this mission experience. It truly is the hardest thing I have ever done. I am experiencing so much and facing so many trials but I know that it is for my good. I’m so grateful for you all and the love and support that you give me. I think about you all a lot and always wonder what you guys are doing…(mostly in my sleep) but nevertheless I haven’t forgotten about you and pray for you often. I love you all and Halong until next week!

Sister Johnson

PS: Our new apartment (on Matti street for Kari-Lynn if that is where your apartment was) is sooooo much better and we can feel the spirit! True we do have mysterious puddles that show up in our bedroom that we have no idea where it comes from but its better than the dungeon kitchen and no flushable toilet!! haha

PS: Thank you thank you thank you Hid for writing me! I am sooooo excited to read it! Your letters always help me so much and make me feel good. I was beginning to think that you guys had forgotten about me. I miss you guys soooo much but I know that the day will come where we can meet again and oh boy the world won’t know what hit them! Haha take care I love you! And tell Wobbs to write me!! For all I know she is living in Paris right now looking at art and doing whatever you do in Paris. Or working some odd job like cleaning Orangatang monkey cages and getting paid like 20 dollars an hour!

.

Responses

  1. hey i love reading your letters sister johnson and someone in tucson truly misses you.
    Manda


Leave a Reply

Categories

