Posted by: Susan Johnson | August 24, 2009

For 18 Months I am being Tutored by the Spirit

Editor’s Note:  For some reason Kelsey’s letter from last week never came in to post, so we are missing a week.
Kamusta poh kayo!
You know what I am excited for this week! The work is going great here and we have mission tour on Friday where a member from the 70 is coming and all the missionaries from Negros are going so I will get to see Sister Cudac who I miss dearly. Our zone is singing in it too (whoop de dooo) and it will be great. I’m so grateful for the things I am learning. Like I said in my last letter that you guys never got (sorry) I really like going on splits – not to get away from my companion or anything but just because I feel like I learn so much and I am not
dependant on anybody. It pushes me to grow. This past week was really good too because I just felt so much love from my Heavenly Father and I felt excited and received so much joy from the gospel. It has been really fun. This past week was also one of the more interesting weeks … well lets just say when you have a district of all sisters (with the exception of the district leader and his companion) and call it Sariah District, you know that something is bound to happen. Well this week Nephi’s bow broke (so to speak) and Sariah wasn’t too happy…she was pretty hungry. My poor companion got the brunt of it and she was wanting to go home and she almost did but then we knocked some sense into her
and now she is good and its back to work as normal. I guess that’s mission life.
I’m grateful for the things I am learning here and the people I am meeting. We all come from such different backgrounds but still we can relate on a spiritual level. The difficult part is finding that spiritual connection when interacting with people. I’m so grateful for the spirit because without it ay nako! Nobody would even listen to us! I am really learning to rely on the spirit and how it works through me. Like a couple weeks ago Sister Tali and I were tracting and we were about to leave this area and I felt like we should stay and continue tracting. It was weird because it came to me as a side thought and I
almost rejected it but when I voiced it out loud, the spirit confirmed it and the next people we talked to ended up coming to church with us the next day and now we are teaching them. Its so cool! I wonder how many of those I get in a day and just cast aside like it was nothing. I still have a lot of practice to do. Our mission president, President Tobias said that as missionaries we are being tutored for 18 months or 2 years by the spirit and I know that that is true. I’m so grateful that the Lord is so patient with us and our weaknesses. Its amazing he still loves us even when we mess up! Its great!
Well I love you all and hope that you are all well! Take care and don’t forget to read and pray everyday! You need it more then you know!
Sister jungle woman Johnson.
PS: wiiiiweeeeeeeeeeee – you wrecked my car!!! ay nako patay ako diri!!! (haha you don’t know what that means!) haha I guess its just pay back for me wrecking Colby’s car. You wanna know what though? This week I was thinking about how bad that would stink if you wrecked my car and come to find out you did! Ano bien at least you are ok. Let me guess – you took tutu-head down huh? I’m telling you he protects you when you drive! Anywho take care little buddy don’t go doing that again!

Editor’s Note:  For some reason Kelsey’s letter from last week never came in to post, so we are missing a week.

Kamusta poh kayo!

You know what I am excited for this week! The work is going great here and we have mission tour on Friday where a member from the 70 is coming and all the missionaries from Negros are going so I will get to see Sister Cudac who I miss dearly. Our zone is singing in it too (whoop de dooo) and it will be great. I’m so grateful for the things I am learning. Like I said in my last letter that you guys never got (sorry) I really like going on splits – not to get away from my companion or anything but just because I feel like I learn so much and I am not dependant on anybody. It pushes me to grow. This past week was really good too because I just felt so much love from my Heavenly Father and I felt excited and received so much joy from the gospel. It has been really fun. This past week was also one of the more interesting weeks … well lets just say when you have a district of all sisters (with the exception of the district leader and his companion) and call it Sariah District, you know that something is bound to happen. Well this week Nephi’s bow broke (so to speak) and Sariah wasn’t too happy…she was pretty hungry. My poor companion got the brunt of it and she was wanting to go home and she almost did but then we knocked some sense into her and now she is good and its back to work as normal. I guess that’s mission life.

I’m grateful for the things I am learning here and the people I am meeting. We all come from such different backgrounds but still we can relate on a spiritual level. The difficult part is finding that spiritual connection when interacting with people. I’m so grateful for the spirit because without it ay nako! Nobody would even listen to us! I am really learning to rely on the spirit and how it works through me. Like a couple weeks ago Sister Tali and I were tracting and we were about to leave this area and I felt like we should stay and continue tracting. It was weird because it came to me as a side thought and I almost rejected it but when I voiced it out loud, the spirit confirmed it and the next people we talked to ended up coming to church with us the next day and now we are teaching them. Its so cool! I wonder how many of those I get in a day and just cast aside like it was nothing. I still have a lot of practice to do. Our mission president, President Tobias said that as missionaries we are being tutored for 18 months or 2 years by the spirit and I know that that is true. I’m so grateful that the Lord is so patient with us and our weaknesses. Its amazing he still loves us even when we mess up! Its great!  Well I love you all and hope that you are all well! Take care and don’t forget to read and pray everyday! You need it more then you know!

Sister jungle woman Johnson.

PS: wiiiiweeeeeeeeeeee – you wrecked my car!!! ay nako patay ako diri!!! (haha you don’t know what that means!) haha I guess its just pay back for me wrecking Colby’s car. You wanna know what though? This week I was thinking about how bad that would stink if you wrecked my car and come to find out you did! Ano bien at least you are ok. Let me guess – you took tutu-head down huh? I’m telling you he protects you when you drive! Anywho take care little buddy don’t go doing that again!

Leave a Reply

Categories

