Posted by: Susan Johnson | August 26, 2009

Teach them to be Strong when Satan Blows his Mighty Winds!

SORRRRRRYY Mom and fam! I promise I wrote you all a letter last week. I guess it just didn’t go through. I got an email telling be it didn’t go through. You weren’t missing much…lasts weeks wasn’t that interesting anyways. The good news is you will get two now! 🙂 Here is last weeks letter. (August 16th)
HI FAM AND ALL!! How goes it? Things are well here in Bago! Hey this is for Kari Lynn…kilala ko ang convert mo. Si Butch! Hahaha nag-istoria kami kag silin niya ikaw nagtudlo sa iya. Tapos siya nagbunyag sang convert ko. Gamay nga kalibutan de bala? Anywho – the work is going great here. The Lord blesses us with so much success. This last week we had a baptism. Si Alfred. He is the cutest 10 year old ever. He was excited and then his friend, Christian is next up who has the biggest smile ever that never goes away. Kalooy sa ila though. Alfred’s mom just passed away like a month ago and their father is nowhere to be found. Its just the kids at home. I feel so bad for them but at the same time there is hope. I know that they will one day see each other again. I’m so excited for the investigators here. There are some that are so strong. Si Jonero kag si Mark Anthony. They are praying and reading and already have a firm foundation…or testimony of the restored gospel. I have noticed here that it is really easy to get people in the waters of baptism without them actually gaining a testimony for themselves and that really bothered me so Sister Tali and I have talked about that and are trying to do things differently. We teach really thoroughly praying for them to receive an answer and we don’t continue on with the other lessons if they don’t do that. It is so critical that they do this step. They need a powerful, convincing reason to continue to go to church when the missionaries are gone. They need that solid foundation so that when Satan blows his mighty winds they can stand strong. With some of our investigators like Jonero and Mark Anthony, it has made a world of difference. I don’t care about numbers – I just want these people that we are teaching to be solid until the end.
The work is super busy here in Bago. A lot of the time sister Tali and I go on splits with ward missionaries so we can cover more ground. I don’t know why but I love going on splits. I really feel like the Lord strengthens me so much to make up for my kulang. He blesses me with understanding and words to say in the teachings. I can’t figure out why He blesses me so much. When I think about it I really don’t understand the love God has for his children. I need to study it out more. By the end of the day Sister Tali and I are beat and sleep like rocks. Then its up again at the break of dawn. We go jogging each morning at the coolest place ever. Each morning as the sun is coming up we go jogging along the riverside. It is so beautiful with the water and the green all around and the random goats that walk by. It really gets my head in the right place each morning.
Is Trigger still alive? Is Riley still alive? In answer to your question – I am still a goof ball even as a missionary! I don’t think that will ever leave.  Hid holy molies it was sooooo good to hear from you last week! Seriously it made my week. Sometimes I wish I could talk to you guys so bad. Thank you so much for sharing your insights about the atonement…for rills, it really helps me a lot. You see…I still have a lot of learning and growing to do here on this little mission thing.
Love, Sister Johnson
Note:  August 23rd letter is posted after this one.

SORRRRRRYY Mom and fam! I promise I wrote you all a letter last week. I guess it just didn’t go through. I got an email telling be it didn’t go through. You weren’t missing much…lasts weeks wasn’t that interesting anyways. The good news is you will get two now! 🙂 Here is last weeks letter. (August 16th)

HI FAM AND ALL!! How goes it? Things are well here in Bago! Hey this is for Kari Lynn…kilala ko ang convert mo. Si Butch! Hahaha nag-istoria kami kag silin niya ikaw nagtudlo sa iya. Tapos siya nagbunyag sang convert ko. Gamay nga kalibutan de bala? Anywho – the work is going great here. The Lord blesses us with so much success. This last week we had a baptism. Si Alfred. He is the cutest 10 year old ever. He was excited and then his friend, Christian is next up who has the biggest smile ever that never goes away. Kalooy sa ila though. Alfred’s mom just passed away like a month ago and their father is nowhere to be found. Its just the kids at home. I feel so bad for them but at the same time there is hope. I know that they will one day see each other again. I’m so excited for the investigators here. There are some that are so strong. Si Jonero kag si Mark Anthony. They are praying and reading and already have a firm foundation…or testimony of the restored gospel. I have noticed here that it is really easy to get people in the waters of baptism without them actually gaining a testimony for themselves and that really bothered me so Sister Tali and I have talked about that and are trying to do things differently. We teach really thoroughly praying for them to receive an answer and we don’t continue on with the other lessons if they don’t do that. It is so critical that they do this step. They need a powerful, convincing reason to continue to go to church when the missionaries are gone. They need that solid foundation so that when Satan blows his mighty winds they can stand strong. With some of our investigators like Jonero and Mark Anthony, it has made a world of difference. I don’t care about numbers – I just want these people that we are teaching to be solid until the end.

The work is super busy here in Bago. A lot of the time sister Tali and I go on splits with ward missionaries so we can cover more ground. I don’t know why but I love going on splits. I really feel like the Lord strengthens me so much to make up for my kulang. He blesses me with understanding and words to say in the teachings. I can’t figure out why He blesses me so much. When I think about it I really don’t understand the love God has for his children. I need to study it out more. By the end of the day Sister Tali and I are beat and sleep like rocks. Then its up again at the break of dawn. We go jogging each morning at the coolest place ever. Each morning as the sun is coming up we go jogging along the riverside. It is so beautiful with the water and the green all around and the random goats that walk by. It really gets my head in the right place each morning.

Is Trigger still alive? Is Riley still alive? In answer to your question – I am still a goof ball even as a missionary! I don’t think that will ever leave.  Hid holy molies it was sooooo good to hear from you last week! Seriously it made my week. Sometimes I wish I could talk to you guys so bad. Thank you so much for sharing your insights about the atonement…for rills, it really helps me a lot. You see…I still have a lot of learning and growing to do here on this little mission thing.

Love, Sister Johnson

Note:  August 23rd letter is posted after this one.

Leave a Reply

Categories

