Posted by: Susan Johnson | September 11, 2009

I am the Instrument God uses to get His Message Across

Musta!
Sounds like you are all doing well and still trucking along life as usual! Keep going and keep working hard at applying the principles of the gospel DAILY in your lives. Also remember the covenants you have made at baptism throughout the week and not just on Sunday. You will notice a greater spirit enter your lives. Soooooo transfers!!! No I did not break the tradition with Sister Tali. She is on to her next companion in a new area which means I am here in Bago still which
is totally fine by me. My new companion is Sister Sabasan. Filippina siya and soooo awesome. I am really excited to be companions with her. She is super obedient and works hard. I am so excited for the things I am going to learn from her! She was in my District this last transfer so I know her fairly well already. Ay kanami ang work here in Bago! Things are going so well and I am sooooo excited for our investigators. I have so much hope for them and I’m sure Brady can relate when you look at them and their situation you can just see how much potential they have and you want to help them so bad!
This last Wednesday I had one of the most amazing teaching experiences I have had since I have been on my mission. It was incredible. The spirit of the Lord was there like I have never felt in teaching before. I have never experienced anything like it. I think that I learned more then the investigator did. I know that the scripture in D&C 84 about how he will give it unto you in that very moment is so true. I went into the teaching nervous because I didn’t know what I was going to share and I was with a ward missionary instead of my companion. During the opening prayer I pleaded in my head for inspiration and then when it was done I just started to talk and all these things came flooding into my mind
to say. I know 100 percent it was the spirit that was doing all the work. I feel so  privileged to be the instrument in which God used to get His message across to His children. Like I said, I think I learned more than the investigator did. We taught about baptism which was kind of a random topic from where we were in the discussions but we committed them to be baptized and they went to church yesterday! It was awesome. I will keep you guys updated. Ever since then though my teaching has been drastically different. It’s not just another lesson I am teaching anymore — it’s a lesson that is tailored for the investigator. This
whole concept is something that I have struggled with ever since I got here in the Philippines because in the MTC, teaching in English, the spirit was always so strong and I just knew what to say and teach. And even when I taught Marielle, the girl from California, the spirit was soooo different. It was like night and day. When I came here I had to resort to the basics and I couldn’t fully express myself and I settled with that. It was hard to even feel the spirit or know what to teach. Well things are different now. Now I am making the transition from making my English teaching into my Illongo teaching and oh boy I
have never had soooooo much fun teaching. I have even noticed that our
investigators respond differently under the influence of the spirit that they feel. I love it so much and I am so excited to go out and teach. It’s so interesting the dynamics of learning a language and teaching the gospel. One thing that I have really, really grown an appreciation for is the fact that I know English. I can’t even explain how much of a blessing it is. The language of this church is English and to be able to read the Book of Mormon and listen to the prophets voice with relative ease is so amazing. You guys we are so blessed to be fluent in this wonderful, rich language full of expression and color. Be thankful!
Well I better be off to save the world…haha well maybe a few souls if I’m lucky!
Sister Johnson

(Sept. 6, 2009) Musta!

Sounds like you are all doing well and still trucking along life as usual! Keep going and keep working hard at applying the principles of the gospel DAILY in your lives. Also remember the covenants you have made at baptism throughout the week and not just on Sunday. You will notice a greater spirit enter your lives. Soooooo transfers!!! No I did not break the tradition with Sister Tali. She is on to her next companion in a new area which means I am here in Bago still which is totally fine by me. My new companion is Sister Sabasan. Filippina siya and soooo awesome. I am really excited to be companions with her. She is super obedient and works hard. I am so excited for the things I am going to learn from her! She was in my District this last transfer so I know her fairly well already. Ay kanami ang work here in Bago! Things are going so well and I am sooooo excited for our investigators. I have so much hope for them and I’m sure Brady can relate when you look at them and their situation you can just see how much potential they have and you want to help them so bad!

This last Wednesday I had one of the most amazing teaching experiences I have had since I have been on my mission. It was incredible. The spirit of the Lord was there like I have never felt in teaching before. I have never experienced anything like it. I think that I learned more than the investigator did. I know that the scripture in D&C 84 about how he will give it unto you in that very moment is so true. I went into the teaching nervous because I didn’t know what I was going to share and I was with a ward missionary instead of my companion. During the opening prayer I pleaded in my head for inspiration and then when it was done I just started to talk and all these things came flooding into my mind to say. I know 100 percent it was the spirit that was doing all the work. I feel so  privileged to be the instrument in which God used to get His message across to His children. Like I said, I think I learned more than the investigator did. We taught about baptism which was kind of a random topic from where we were in the discussions but we committed them to be baptized and they went to church yesterday! It was awesome. I will keep you guys updated. Ever since then though my teaching has been drastically different. It’s not just another lesson I am teaching anymore — it’s a lesson that is tailored for the investigator. This whole concept is something that I have struggled with ever since I got here in the Philippines because in the MTC, teaching in English, the spirit was always so strong and I just knew what to say and teach. And even when I taught Marielle, the girl from California, the spirit was soooo different. It was like night and day. When I came here I had to resort to the basics and I couldn’t fully express myself and I settled with that. It was hard to even feel the spirit or know what to teach. Well things are different now. Now I am making the transition from making my English teaching into my Illongo teaching and oh boy I have never had soooooo much fun teaching. I have even noticed that our investigators respond differently under the influence of the spirit that they feel. I love it so much and I am so excited to go out and teach. It’s so interesting the dynamics of learning a language and teaching the gospel. One thing that I have really, really grown an appreciation for is the fact that I know English. I can’t even explain how much of a blessing it is. The language of this church is English and to be able to read the Book of Mormon and listen to the prophets voice with relative ease is so amazing. You guys we are so blessed to be fluent in this wonderful, rich language full of expression and color. Be thankful!

Well I better be off to save the world…haha well maybe a few souls if I’m lucky!

Sister Johnson

Leave a Reply

Categories

