Posted by: Susan Johnson | September 11, 2009

The Love of God Poured Down Upon Me!

WOW Man I was so happy when I opened my mailbox and saw 15 emails. Man you guys must really love me or something! Haha thank you so much I will just print them off and read then later and try not to be trunky the rest of the day! joke lang. I would never get trunky there is too much going on to worry about being trunky! The only time I did and mom the only reason I am writing this is because you will appreciate it. I was in a jeepnee one time and guess what song comes on! — Earth, Wind and Fire! Haha all I could see in my mind was you mom cranking up the volume and doing your weird mom dance in the car jamming out! Haha it brought a smile to my face. Funny story! So Sister Tali and I saw a rat in our apartment the other day so we told the owner and she brought over this sticky pads. You know like the ones in Grandmas house that are really gross and have like a bajillion spiders all over it. Yea except for this one was heavy duty. I was like there is no way that will catch those suckers! But she insisted – so last night we set it up and put some crackers on it. This morning we woke up to 2 rats stuck to this sticky gum stuff both alive squirming around like mad trying to get out. It reminded me of the time in our basement where we caught those two mice! Haha it was gross. So I picked it up and sure enough they were stuck pretty good and then I threw it out so the cats could have them. Man anything goes in the Philippines – its awesome!
So this week was awesome! The mission tour that I was telling you about was on Friday and oh man was it powerful! Elder Edwards was such a good speaker and it was in English and I could just listen and not squint my eyes and tilt my head to the side and try to understand  and the spirit was flowing and it was just awesome! Plus I got to see my old companion and hear about all of our investigators and recent converts and how they were doing and a bunch of them wrote to me and it was so cool! And I was part of a choir that sang my favorite song, “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing” and it was so powerful. (don’t worry I mouthed the words the whole time because I was right in front of the microphone! I don’t know what they were thinking!). It was good. Some of the things that I really liked that he talked about was how incredibly important this work is! Its easy to lose sight of that when sometimes it feels you are just moseying around some city in the Philippines not really knowing what’s going on. It really brought things into perspective for me and I want to go about with more passion then ever. This transfer I feel like I have grown the most especially in learning about the spirit and how it feels and works. I am loving teaching more and more because every time I just pour my heart out to these people and bear my testimony with all the passion and spirit I can muster. When I do that the spirit bears witness to me that what I am saying is true and I pray with all my heart that these people are feeling it too. My love and concern for investigators has really grown too. Thinking about them more and praying for them that they will receive answers to their prayers. The way I teach has really changed too for the better. I finally feel like I am becoming more effective.
Oh cool experience. I have really, really been praying for the gift of tongues these past couple of weeks so I can boost my understanding of the people. Well this one particular teaching, Sister Tali and I were on splits and I was with a ward missionary and we went to follow up with an oym. We ended up teaching the first lesson to them and as people would walk by they would stop and listen. It could have been really intimidating but the lord helped me so much. I spoke so smoothly. The language was just flowing out with little effort and the spirit was so strong and I love teaching about Joseph Smith. He is so awesome. I’m so grateful the Lord – he is making my weak things become strong. Oh I had a realization this week. I don’t know if I mentioned this last week but I have learned so much about love and how important it is. Wednesdays was one of those days. One of those days where Satan is just on your back hounding you for everything you do and telling you you’re not good enough and on and on until you just feel awful. Well yea I was having one of those days. So for personal study I was just sitting there thinking about how I could stop the turmoil in my head and so I opened up my scriptures and started reading in Moroni 10 about gifts of the spirit. Then I got to thinking what gifts of the spirit have I been blessed with because all I am focused on right now is what I don’t have. So I started writing in my journal all of the gifts and talents I have been blessed with and it was like the windows of heaven opened up to me. I felt so much better and the love of god poured down upon me. I know this is really simple but I realized that God does not see us for what we are not but he sees the big picture. He sees all the good that is packed into us and the amazing potential that we have and how much He needs us to use the specific talents that we have been blessed with so we can bless others. We have our talents for a reason and if we don’t use them they will be taken away. I felt so good about myself. And then I also realized that the key to loving others and having that Chirst like love and charity is to look at peoples potential. Look at what they are capable of and then all your anger or dislike of them will vanish and all you will want to do is help them. I would commit each of you to try it and see. Awesome stuff! Tomorrow we find out transfers…whether I stay or go nobody knows! My companion Sister Tali has a curse where she has been in the mission for over a year and every single transfer she has gotten a new companion…we will see if I am the one to break that curse! Hopefully! Well take care I love you all like a Filippino loves rice and oh boy do they love rice. They can’t live without rice and now I cant either! For reals I crave rice for every meal now no joke! PINAY AKO SUBONG!! Sister Johnson!

(August 30, 2009) WOW Man I was so happy when I opened my mailbox and saw 15 emails. Man you guys must really love me or something! Haha thank you so much I will just print them off and read then later and try not to be trunky the rest of the day! joke lang. I would never get trunky there is too much going on to worry about being trunky! The only time I did and mom the only reason I am writing this is because you will appreciate it. I was in a jeepnee one time and guess what song comes on! — Earth, Wind and Fire! Haha all I could see in my mind was you mom cranking up the volume and doing your weird mom dance in the car jamming out! Haha it brought a smile to my face. Funny story! So Sister Tali and I saw a rat in our apartment the other day so we told the owner and she brought over this sticky pads. You know like the ones in Grandmas house that are really gross and have like a bajillion spiders all over it. Yea except for this one was heavy duty. I was like there is no way that will catch those suckers! But she insisted – so last night we set it up and put some crackers on it. This morning we woke up to 2 rats stuck to this sticky gum stuff both alive squirming around like mad trying to get out. It reminded me of the time in our basement where we caught those two mice! Haha it was gross. So I picked it up and sure enough they were stuck pretty good and then I threw it out so the cats could have them. Man anything goes in the Philippines – its awesome!

So this week was awesome! The mission tour that I was telling you about was on Friday and oh man was it powerful! Elder Edwards was such a good speaker and it was in English and I could just listen and not squint my eyes and tilt my head to the side and try to understand and the spirit was flowing and it was just awesome! Plus I got to see my old companion and hear about all of our investigators and recent converts and how they were doing and a bunch of them wrote to me and it was so cool! And I was part of a choir that sang my favorite song, “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing” and it was so powerful. (don’t worry I mouthed the words the whole time because I was right in front of the microphone! I don’t know what they were thinking!). It was good. Some of the things that I really liked that he talked about was how incredibly important this work is! Its easy to lose sight of that when sometimes it feels you are just moseying around some city in the Philippines not really knowing what’s going on. It really brought things into perspective for me and I want to go about with more passion then ever. This transfer I feel like I have grown the most especially in learning about the spirit and how it feels and works. I am loving teaching more and more because every time I just pour my heart out to these people and bear my testimony with all the passion and spirit I can muster. When I do that the spirit bears witness to me that what I am saying is true and I pray with all my heart that these people are feeling it too. My love and concern for investigators has really grown too. Thinking about them more and praying for them that they will receive answers to their prayers. The way I teach has really changed too for the better. I finally feel like I am becoming more effective.

Oh cool experience. I have really, really been praying for the gift of tongues these past couple of weeks so I can boost my understanding of the people. Well this one particular teaching, Sister Tali and I were on splits and I was with a ward missionary and we went to follow up with an oym. We ended up teaching the first lesson to them and as people would walk by they would stop and listen. It could have been really intimidating but the Lord helped me so much. I spoke so smoothly. The language was just flowing out with little effort and the spirit was so strong and I love teaching about Joseph Smith. He is so awesome. I’m so grateful to the Lord – he is making my weak things become strong. Oh I had a realization this week. I don’t know if I mentioned this last week but I have learned so much about love and how important it is. Wednesdays was one of those days. One of those days where Satan is just on your back hounding you for everything you do and telling you you’re not good enough and on and on until you just feel awful. Well yea I was having one of those days. So for personal study I was just sitting there thinking about how I could stop the turmoil in my head and so I opened up my scriptures and started reading in Moroni 10 about gifts of the spirit. Then I got to thinking what gifts of the spirit have I been blessed with because all I am focused on right now is what I don’t have. So I started writing in my journal all of the gifts and talents I have been blessed with and it was like the windows of heaven opened up to me. I felt so much better and the love of God poured down upon me. I know this is really simple but I realized that God does not see us for what we are not but he sees the big picture. He sees all the good that is packed into us and the amazing potential that we have and how much He needs us to use the specific talents that we have been blessed with so we can bless others. We have our talents for a reason and if we don’t use them they will be taken away. I felt so good about myself. And then I also realized that the key to loving others and having that Chirst like love and charity is to look at peoples potential. Look at what they are capable of and then all your anger or dislike of them will vanish and all you will want to do is help them. I would commit each of you to try it and see. Awesome stuff! Tomorrow we find out transfers…whether I stay or go nobody knows! My companion Sister Tali has a curse where she has been in the mission for over a year and every single transfer she has gotten a new companion…we will see if I am the one to break that curse! Hopefully! Well take care I love you all like a Filippino loves rice and oh boy do they love rice. They can’t live without rice and now I cant either! For reals I crave rice for every meal now no joke! PINAY AKO SUBONG!! Sister Johnson!

Leave a Reply

Categories

