Posted by: Susan Johnson | September 15, 2009

I Had a Big “Blond” Moment!

(Sept. 13, 2009) Hey fam
Alls well here in the Philippines as usual. Yesterday was so awesome! The whole day. It started when we went to church and there sitting in the pew was Brother Raul David. Early too! He is an elderly guy who we just started teaching. We have visited him twice (2 of the times he was drunk). He has  a granddaughter that we are teaching too, and we met him through her. Well we talked to them on Saturday and we were really bold with him. We told him basically he needs to stop drinking and set a good example for his grandchildren (he drinks his life away EVERY night it is so sad). Well we also committed him to go to church. Both Sister Sabasan and I didn’t have high hopes but sure enough he was there! It was sooooo awesome and that sacrament was probably one of my favorite out in the field. Both wards (we are working 2 right now) had a primary program! It was the cutest thing seeing all the little kids get up and say their part and sing the primary songs. It brought back many memories of when I was a kid and had to do that. The spirit was sooooo strong though! I was really touched. I mean to hear simple truths being taught from the mouths of the purest of hearts it was just sweet. And Brother Rauls grandkids where even involved and said little parts! Haha it was soooo cool and the ward was so welcoming of him and helping him out. I can’t wait to follow up with him tomorrow.
We have 2 baptisms next week. Jonero and Jessa-may. They are so awesome and I am so excited for them. Si Jonero is 19 and just a good kid. He loves reading from the Book of Mormon and has a really good support system to keep him going to church. That is one of the things that is the hardest here in the Philippines…retention. It is so sad to see and it breaks my heart to see all the less actives.
Guess what! Well I had a blonde moment yesterday…a big blonde moment. We took a tricycle out to an investigators house and I left my scriptures and water bottle in the tricycle!!!! That’s like my whole life right there water and manna!!!! That’s like…that’s like…ok sorry for the horrible analogy but its like Harry Potter and his wand! It only works for him. I feel that way about my scriptures! They only work for me.  Any other scriptures just feel weird (galing true gihapon).  In mine I know where everything is and what color it is highlighted in and where it is on the page…any who I don’t know where they are now.  Its ok though.  I’m hopeful I will see them again some day! Have a great week and trust in the Lord!
-Sister J

(Sept. 13, 2009) Hey fam

Alls well here in the Philippines as usual. Yesterday was so awesome! The whole day. It started when we went to church and there sitting in the pew was Brother Raul David. Early too! He is an elderly guy who we just started teaching. We have visited him twice (2 of the times he was drunk). He has  a granddaughter that we are teaching too, and we met him through her. Well we talked to them on Saturday and we were really bold with him. We told him basically he needs to stop drinking and set a good example for his grandchildren (he drinks his life away EVERY night it is so sad). Well we also committed him to go to church. Both Sister Sabasan and I didn’t have high hopes but sure enough he was there! It was sooooo awesome and that sacrament was probably one of my favorite out in the field. Both wards (we are working 2 right now) had a primary program! It was the cutest thing seeing all the little kids get up and say their part and sing the primary songs. It brought back many memories of when I was a kid and had to do that. The spirit was sooooo strong though! I was really touched. I mean to hear simple truths being taught from the mouths of the purest of hearts it was just sweet. And Brother Rauls grandkids where even involved and said little parts! Haha it was soooo cool and the ward was so welcoming of him and helping him out. I can’t wait to follow up with him tomorrow.

We have 2 baptisms next week. Jonero and Jessa-may. They are so awesome and I am so excited for them. Si Jonero is 19 and just a good kid. He loves reading from the Book of Mormon and has a really good support system to keep him going to church. That is one of the things that is the hardest here in the Philippines…retention. It is so sad to see and it breaks my heart to see all the less actives.

Guess what! Well I had a blond moment yesterday…a big blond moment. We took a tricycle out to an investigators house and I left my scriptures and water bottle in the tricycle!!!! That’s like my whole life right there water and manna!!!! That’s like…that’s like…ok sorry for the horrible analogy but its like Harry Potter and his wand! It only works for him. I feel that way about my scriptures! They only work for me.  Any other scriptures just feel weird (galing true gihapon).  In mine I know where everything is and what color it is highlighted in and where it is on the page…any who I don’t know where they are now.  Its ok though.  I’m hopeful I will see them again some day! Have a great week and trust in the Lord!

-Sister J

Leave a Reply

Categories

