Posted by: Susan Johnson | September 30, 2009

Oh the Joy of Filipino Showers!

Hey fam and friends-
Things are going well here on the Filipino front. There has been a wicked bagio or storm somewhere in the Philippines – I don’t know where because I am not in touch with the world but it has been affecting here in Bago. It has been raining like I have never seen it. Every time it rains hard there is a lake in our bedroom but its all good. No unhallowed rain can stop the work from progressing.
We had  2 baptisms this week — the two cutest little kids. They were so fun to teach and their baptism was great. One of the kids, Mike-Francis, when he popped up out of the water was like AMEN! It was so funny. They have a lot of life ahead of them though and I hope and pray that they stay strong. Their grandma is awesome. She takes them to church every week – I just hope they keep it up. We have another baptism this Saturday. He is a referral that we received and has already listened to the missionaries and believes he just never got baptized so we are working with him.  This Sunday was sooooo awesome! There is this brand new, fresh off the mission, RM that came home and is in our ward and on his first Sunday they called him as the ward mission leader. That ward was DESPARATELY needing a WML because the other one was MIA. I am soo excited to work with him because he is a hard worker and knows what his role is and what needs to be done. It will help the ward so much!
Mom side note — you would love it here! It is September and they are already playing CHRISTMAS MUSIC and people have Christmas trees up already! Oh and mom just an even more side note — I think of you every time I shower in the morning 🙂 Well there is no shower – it’s a bucket and the water is super cold. And every time I splash the brisk water on myself I think man my mom would hate her life right now if she had to do this with the freezing water every day! And then I have a good chuckle as my knees clap together and my lips quiver! haha that was random and probably a little too much info! love ya!
I am sooooooo excited for General Conference! It is going to be amazing!  Oh we had Zone Conference this past week. It was sooooo good. I love our new Mission President, President Tobias. He is awesome! Slowly but surely he is making small changes that are changing the mission. He runs a tighter ship (which I am sooo thankful for) and there is a new spirit that has been brought to our mission. He is a great guy and I can’t wait to get to know him better!
Wellllll I gotta go but I know that the church is true. It doesn’t matter who you are or where you are from. It’s true. And NOTHING  can stop the work from progressing! So there is no need to worry. This is the Lords work and we are privileged to be instruments in His hands! So stop reading my boring blog, get off the computer, and read Jacob 3:11 and go to work. Find those souls! We got to work together. halong permi!
Sister Johnson

Hey fam and friends-

Things are going well here on the Filipino front. There has been a wicked bagio or storm somewhere in the Philippines – I don’t know where because I am not in touch with the world but it has been affecting here in Bago. It has been raining like I have never seen it. Every time it rains hard there is a lake in our bedroom but its all good. No unhallowed rain can stop the work from progressing.

We had  2 baptisms this week — the two cutest little kids. They were so fun to teach and their baptism was great. One of the kids, Mike-Francis, when he popped up out of the water was like AMEN! It was so funny. They have a lot of life ahead of them though and I hope and pray that they stay strong. Their grandma is awesome. She takes them to church every week – I just hope they keep it up. We have another baptism this Saturday. He is a referral that we received and has already listened to the missionaries and believes he just never got baptized so we are working with him.  This Sunday was sooooo awesome! There is this brand new, fresh off the mission, RM that came home and is in our ward and on his first Sunday they called him as the ward mission leader. That ward was DESPARATELY needing a WML because the other one was MIA. I am soo excited to work with him because he is a hard worker and knows what his role is and what needs to be done. It will help the ward so much!

Mom side note — you would love it here! It is September and they are already playing CHRISTMAS MUSIC and people have Christmas trees up already! Oh and mom just an even more side note — I think of you every time I shower in the morning 🙂 Well there is no shower – it’s a bucket and the water is super cold. And every time I splash the brisk water on myself I think man my mom would hate her life right now if she had to do this with the freezing water every day! And then I have a good chuckle as my knees clap together and my lips quiver! haha that was random and probably a little too much info! love ya!

I am sooooooo excited for General Conference! It is going to be amazing!  Oh we had Zone Conference this past week. It was sooooo good. I love our new Mission President, President Tobias. He is awesome! Slowly but surely he is making small changes that are changing the mission. He runs a tighter ship (which I am sooo thankful for) and there is a new spirit that has been brought to our mission. He is a great guy and I can’t wait to get to know him better!

Wellllll I gotta go but I know that the church is true. It doesn’t matter who you are or where you are from. It’s true. And NOTHING  can stop the work from progressing! So there is no need to worry. This is the Lords work and we are privileged to be instruments in His hands! So stop reading my boring blog, get off the computer, and read Jacob 3:11 and go to work. Find those souls! We got to work together. halong permi!

Sister Johnson

Responses

  1. Been too long since I commented. But you are just too much!!!!!!! I love it and am so happy that YOU are soooo happy and I think you are the most fired up mish I know. Way to go Kelsey! sending love and prayers always.

  2. Wow! You are an amazing missionary. It’s so wonderful to hear some of the stuff that goes on there and I can relate to most of them since I grew up in that kind of environment.
    Anyway, James is going to Honduras, he enters the MTC on the 28th of this month. Its so exciting, we finally have one that will go on a mission. Take care and we love you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

