Posted by: Susan Johnson | October 8, 2009

My Mission is Teaching me Humility

How goes it? This is me, Sister Johnson (just incase you didn’t know) and I am doing very well…actually a lot better then earlier this week. I can honestly say that this was one of the hardest weeks for me in the mission. It really tested my character in more ways then one. I wish I could tell you all what happened but I am afraid this is a for after the mission story so hang in there! Things are so much better now so no worries. Through this experience though the Lord helped me soooo much. One of the things that my mission is teaching me is humility. Time and time again I am brought to my knees in humble prayer pleading for help. I literally rely on the Lord for my strength. I would not be able to do it without Him. I found a really cool scripture this week in Mosiah 7:33. it is soooo awesome and true.
The baptism of Brother Hilbert Cantillar, a 28 year old father of the two cutest kids ever took place. His wife is a member. I am so excited for them. It went really well…probably one of the best baptisms I have had here in the mission. It was really well organized, there were a lot of people and it was quiet and spiritual. Nami nami gid siya. He is readily preparing to receive the priesthood now. Unfortunately it will be a while until our next baptism but we are still working with some of the most awesome people!
Man it sounds like conference was soooo awesome. I am so excited you have no idea!! We don’t get to see it until next week. Thanks for pumping me up for it! We just came from our p-day zone activity. It was a lot of fun. It was a sports fest and we combined with another zone to play some games. We played knock out (my fav) and some capture the flag and even 4-square. So now I am sitting here typing with a sunburned face (I’m sorry mom…I can just see your reaction now) and pleased as punch! Yea its been crazy rain here in the Philippines. Manila got hit really bad with really bad floods but here where I am at it has just been rain thankfully so no worries about me. The huge mascara festival is coming up here in Bacolod hopefully I will still be here to see it!
Hey mom I will give you 10 dollars if you can somehow get some homemade chocolate cookies to me for my birthday. Your creative I know you can do it! Haha Hey Elder Johnson man you are hecka cool…haha joke-lang for real though. Keep working hard and being an awesome example to me! Check out Alma 13:27-30 it’s a really good scripture to share with investigators. Love ya  Hey dad thanks for the email. The computer I was on wouldn’t let me see the pics but sounds like a crazy trip you guys had. I’m glad you guys are ok and that you were able to follow the promptings of the spirit. It is so important that we live worthy of this amazing gift that has been bestowed upon us. I’m learning a lot about the spirit here.
Well fam and friends I know that this gospel is true. I know that our Savior lives. I know that the Book of Mormon is the word of God and if you will just take some time to read from its pages a new light will come into your lives. I know that Joseph Smith is a prophet of God and that he suffered so much for the truth. The forces of evil are so great now but we need to be that shining light that cuts out the darkness. We need to be the force that our Heavenly Father can use to overcome Satan and his evil grasp. Padayon kamo hasta sa wa ay katapusan!
Love Sister Johnson

How goes it? This is me, Sister Johnson (just incase you didn’t know) and I am doing very well…actually a lot better then earlier this week. I can honestly say that this was one of the hardest weeks for me in the mission. It really tested my character in more ways then one. I wish I could tell you all what happened but I am afraid this is a for after the mission story so hang in there! Things are so much better now so no worries. Through this experience though the Lord helped me soooo much. One of the things that my mission is teaching me is humility. Time and time again I am brought to my knees in humble prayer pleading for help. I literally rely on the Lord for my strength. I would not be able to do it without Him. I found a really cool scripture this week in Mosiah 7:33. it is soooo awesome and true.

The baptism of Brother Hilbert Cantillar, a 28 year old father of the two cutest kids ever took place. His wife is a member. I am so excited for them. It went really well…probably one of the best baptisms I have had here in the mission. It was really well organized, there were a lot of people and it was quiet and spiritual. Nami nami gid siya. He is readily preparing to receive the priesthood now. Unfortunately it will be a while until our next baptism but we are still working with some of the most awesome people!

Man it sounds like conference was soooo awesome. I am so excited you have no idea!! We don’t get to see it until next week. Thanks for pumping me up for it! We just came from our p-day zone activity. It was a lot of fun. It was a sports fest and we combined with another zone to play some games. We played knock out (my fav) and some capture the flag and even 4-square. So now I am sitting here typing with a sunburned face (I’m sorry mom…I can just see your reaction now) and pleased as punch! Yea its been crazy rain here in the Philippines. Manila got hit really bad with really bad floods but here where I am at it has just been rain thankfully so no worries about me. The huge mascara festival is coming up here in Bacolod hopefully I will still be here to see it!

Hey mom I will give you 10 dollars if you can somehow get some homemade chocolate cookies to me for my birthday. Your creative I know you can do it! Haha Hey Elder Johnson man you are hecka cool…haha joke-lang for real though. Keep working hard and being an awesome example to me! Check out Alma 13:27-30 it’s a really good scripture to share with investigators. Love ya  Hey dad thanks for the email. The computer I was on wouldn’t let me see the pics but sounds like a crazy trip you guys had. I’m glad you guys are ok and that you were able to follow the promptings of the spirit. It is so important that we live worthy of this amazing gift that has been bestowed upon us. I’m learning a lot about the spirit here.

Well fam and friends I know that this gospel is true. I know that our Savior lives. I know that the Book of Mormon is the word of God and if you will just take some time to read from its pages a new light will come into your lives. I know that Joseph Smith is a prophet of God and that he suffered so much for the truth. The forces of evil are so great now but we need to be that shining light that cuts out the darkness. We need to be the force that our Heavenly Father can use to overcome Satan and his evil grasp. Padayon kamo hasta sa wa ay katapusan!

Love Sister Johnson

Leave a Reply

Categories

