Posted by: Susan Johnson | November 17, 2009

No Effort is Wasted!

(Nov. 15, 2009) HI  fam and friends-
Grabi gid salamat for your guy’s love and support again I have not yet read it but I know it will be helpful. I appreciate it a lot. Its good to have friends and family who support me so much. It is a blessing.  So updates…we had our baptism on Saturday. My first one here in Silay. It was awesome. Things went really well. And he passed the interview! The reason why I am so excited about that is he is just a kid 9 years old but his family is less active turning active again. And when we got here in Silay he was already being taught by the Elders but he didn’t pass the interview because he had drank iced tea earlier that day so they didn’t go through with the baptism. Well he is iced tea free and now a member of the church. We have another baptism this week as well. Si John-Roban – he is 11 years old and lives with his grandpa who is an active member. This kid is so cool and smart as I’ll get out. I’m excited for his baptism.
We had Zone Conference this week which was so good. I love our new Mission President. He brings the spirit so powerfully. There were a lot of things that I learned too. One thing…no effort is wasted. No matter what. Everything has a purpose and Gods knowledge is not our knowledge. We just need to give it all that we have. Just because somebody rejects us now doesn’t mean that down they road they won’t accept the gospel. We have an investigator that is living proof of that right now – Edwin Craus. The missionaries visited him a long time ago and he rejected them. He was Catholic and did not want to change…now he is listening and going to church and giving up smoking. You should see the progression of this guy, it is awesome. He is the one investigator I talked about before that can’t hear very well. You have to like shout at him – its awesome. Not only him but his family will be baptized as well. Hopefully on December 24th
As for me personally, I am still having my struggles. I need to stop my thought pattern because it is somewhat negative all the time and it destroys what little faith I have. I know that the scripture that says the Lord gives us line upon line is true because I feel like I am learning line upon line. Last week was love this week is fear…the opposite of love. Perfect love casteth out fear. All these things I am learning are related. I was reading in the Bible dictionary about fear and it describes me all too well. I fear and therefore have no confidence in the Lord. Step by step I need to build up my faith again…I just have to figure out how… got any advice…line upon line I know. I need to give it some more thought.
Thanks for the happy birthdays too! I have not received your package yet hid or wobbs but it my be in the mission office – I haven’t checked yet. Oh and mom I loved the stuff you put in my package! The cookies were in a million pieces but awesome all the same. And the rats and triantulas…haha that was sick! I know I eat weird gummy stuff but I don’t think I can bring myself to eat that rat! Thanks again for all of your love!! I love you guys way too much!
-Sister Johnson
PS: LAWEN IF YOU ARE READING THIS YOU ARE IN TROUBLE!!! HAHA YOUR ENGAGED!! ANO BIEN AND TO DEVIN!!! MAN I BETTER BE GETTING A LETTER FROM YOU ASAP!! WITH PICTURES! Oh and congrats that is sooooooo awesome and I am soooooooo excited for you guys!

 

Responses

  1. Sista J!!! What a SPIRIT you have. I love love love reading your updates. You inspire me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

