Posted by: Susan Johnson | December 2, 2009

I’ve Been Sent Back to my Birthplace in the Mission – San Carlos!

(Nov. 29, 2009) It was thanksgiving!! Haha and even though they don’t celebrate Thanksgiving here in the Phils, I sure ate like it was Thanksgiving!! Haha it all started with clams and rice for breakfast…they don’t believe in breakfast foods…anything goes…even dessert! Haha and then for lunch I bought a lecheon manok and rice which is like the chickens that you buy at the grocery store that are flavored good. And then that night both of the Bishops from both wards and a bunch of ward members invited me for dinner at this restaurant for my farewell where we had lecheon manok and rice again! It was great and my pooch was happy. Farewell???…yes I have been transferred. My time was short in good old Silay. Man I can’t quite express how much I love that area. I can’t put it into words…even though the companion situation was a little rough, my heart for the people swells. Seriously the ward members, the bishops…haha I love the bishops. I wish I had time to explain them to you and their unique personalities but I just love them so much and then the investigators!!! Oh man I miss them so much. I left with 11 people ready to be baptized in the month of December!!! Can you believe that? Two families and one part member and some others as well. I wish I had time to explain each precious soul to you but I have a work to do somewhere else. Haha now this is where things get crazy! So where did I transfer you ask? Haha you will never believe this…I still can’t believe it. I was sent back to my birth place in the mission! SAN CARLOS!!! Haha crazy huh? I am hangin out in my old digs. The only thing is I transferred branches. Instead of branch one I am now in branch 2. I am living in the house right next to the house I lived in. (yea I get my old jogging hallway back!) Sunday was so much fun. I got to see all of my converts and members and people I love. It was sweet. They were pretty shocked to see me! So along with this transfer comes another language adjustment back to Cebuano. It’s a little harder this time because I have been more set in my ways with Ilonggo…its fun though. I love the Cebuano accent and miss it.

Also goood gooood gooood news! I got made senior companion na! sadja. And my companion is Sister Galicia. She is a gwapa gwapa nga Filipina from…somewhere in Luzon…I will have to ask her again. She is so much fun though and she talks sooooo much and to me too! I love it! Haha I have my work cut out for me though. We have a lot of work to do in this area but I am excited for the challenges and to rely on the Lord to get this work done. I am so grateful I am not alone in this work. I wish I could express more but I gotta go. I love you all and in the spirit of Thanksgiving, I am so grateful for you all and how righteous you all are. I pray for you guys and hope that you are all happy. I am soooo thankful that we are going to have a new addition to our family soon! I can’t wait to meet her. I am so thankful for the gospel and for our Father in Heaven who is never far from us. I am thankful for this opportunity to serve in this part of the lords vineyard. Seriously I have faced some challenges that I don’t think I would have in any other part of the world and for that I am grateful. So  I sent a big Cebuano AYO AYO so inyo tanan og gihigugma ko kamo!

Sister Johnson

Leave a Reply

Categories

