Posted by: Susan Johnson | February 2, 2010

Our Mission is Being Split — After I Leave!

(Jan. 31, 2010)

This Place is Beautiful!

YO YO YO – How goes it? Well things are definitely goin here…goin crazy! In a good way of course! The Lord is definitely leading us to those that have been prepared….the elect. Alls we have to do is continue to live worthy of the spirit that leads and directs this work. We have found another amazing investigator! His name is Gilbert. He is 18 years old…mission age! He is awesome…I must admit that when I first met him I didn’t see too much potential in him but thank heavens for my companion. We kept going back to him and yesterday he came to church and even came with us as we visited some other investigators of ours. It was awesome. Our other investigators are doing so well too! And guess what else? Sister Galicia and I have been really working with some less active families. Whenever we have an appointment fall through, we try to visit a less active family near by. And after just a few visits to them they are coming back to church! We have 5 less active people at church on Sunday! Along with 4 investigators! It was so awesome. All you members out there…members of the true church…please don’t forget about the less active people! All it takes is just a few short visits and you too can save a life. Its just like in D&C 18 – I cant remember the verse but you know the worth of souls is great in the sight of God…and how great shall be your joy if you bring many souls unto me. Seriously help save those that have fallen off the path. As members it is our responsibility not the missionaries. Don’t rely on the missionaries to do it. And you don’t need a calling as an excuse to visit somebody that has fallen away. Just visit them as a concerned friend. Its so simple but you can change lives. Please I want you to read Alma 24:30 right now…I know sad huh. That kills me. Don’t let that happen to our brothers and sisters.
Sorry that was a little preachy…I’ll get off my soap box now but anywho this week was good too because we went to Bacolod for Zone Conference. Of course it was spiritually appetizing and also physically!  We learned some great things about how important it is to have good teaching skills as well as Christ like attributes. Oh and we found out that they are splitting our mission! Its going to be Panay Iloilo mission and Bacolod mission. Crazy huh…but that won’t happen until July…I go home in…you know that month that comes before July…anywho so Sunday was awesome and then this morning for personal study it was so amazing the things I learned! I spent all my time on 2 verses…that are now some of my most favorite. Its Moroni 10:32-33 wow that’s all I have to say. These scriptures answered so many of the questions I have had for along time now.  I have struggled a lot with perfectionism here on my mission.  It sometimes hinders my progression…its just not good. And I came to the conclusion that I don’t understand Gods love for me especially the part about mercy and justice. Every time I tried to cut myself  a break the justice side would take over and say well you are just rationalizing things and I could just never win…never feel happy with what I was doing. Well check out verse 32 – come and be perfected in Christ. We don’t have to be perfect, but with Christ we can. So how do we do that? We deny ourselves of all ungodliness which I take to be follow the commandments. Try to follow the example of our Savior and then it says love God with all of your might mind and strength! You guys we just have to love God and try. I love how in President Uchdorf’s last talk he says never feel discouraged if you stumble at times or you don’t feel worthy to be a diciple of Christ…just try. We can do it, we just have to try. Then the best part – Gods grace will be sufficient for you. It will make up for what you are lacking! How amazing is that! We don’t have to be perfect we just have to try and we can be counted as perfect. And through the grace of God we can be strengthened and it can help us overcome our faults and be better. The atonement is so amazing and slowly but surely I am learning how to apply these things and feel them in my life. I know that what the scriptures say are true. As you draw near unto God he will draw near unto you! I know he will. I have been experiencing it first hand. I love you all. Have a good week!
Sister Johnson
PS hey how is my little hinablos??? That’s neice in Cebuano! Colby you haven’t kissed her to death have you?? Tara how is Colby around her?
PSS WEEEEEEE WEEEEEEE HAPPY 17TH BIRTHDAY YA BEAST! I CANT BELIEVE YOU! UR JUST GROWIN UP SO FAST. HEY I NOTICED HOW YOU WERE ALMOST AS TALL AS DAD IN THE FAMILY PICTURE!! HOLY COW! I CANT WAIT TO SEE YOU! HAVE FUN!!! OH WAIT I JUST REALIZED THAT YOUR BIRTHDAY IS NEXT MONDAY SO I COULD HAVE WRITTEN YOU NEXT WEEK…OH WELL YOU WILL JUST GET TWO MESSAGES FROM ME.
PSS man wobbs that is crazy about Lindsey! Man I will definitely keep her in my prayers. Oh and I have not gotten your package yet – hopefully soon. But I did get hids wedding announcement…it was…you know…cool…yea. Grabi hid gwapa ka kaayo!
Leave a Reply

Categories

