Posted by: Susan Johnson | March 9, 2010

We Had 11 Less Actives Come to Church Today!

You Gotta Keep Hydrated!

I'm Making New Friends!

(March 7, 2010) Sige Fam – this week was sooooooooo rewarding!! It was sweet as the mangos we eat every morning…and oh are those sweet! Ok that was cheesy but that’s all I got. So this last Sunday was soooo fun. I was having a ball at church…I don’t even know why but I just love the members so much. I not only love the members but I just love Filipinos! They are soooo cool. So anywho we had 11 less actives who came to church!!! It was so amazing – a lot of which we have been working with. Especially one. Her name is Sister Marimla. I don’t think I have been happier on my mission then when I saw her sitting in the chapel. You guys we have been working with this family for so long now and they have not come to church yet. We have done FHE with them and several different things but they would just not come. But we were thinking about what we could share with her that would help her come back to church and I felt impressed to talk about the restoration and Joseph Smith. That Sunday morning before church started (our church is at one so we have appointments before) we vistited her and watched the Joseph Smith restoration DVD. Then after, Sister Whitehead and I bore powerful testimony about Joseph Smith and the restored church of Jesus Christ. The spirit was really strong as we committed her to come to church later…AND SHE DID! Wow it was so awesome! And the ward members were so happy to see her too. They expressed how much they missed her. It was great and I only pray she continues. Then not only less actives came to church, but 6 investigators! It was great and also one visitor who we will follow up with later this week. It was so great and then I had the most special privilege to teach Gospel Principles class about the Atonement of Jesus Christ. I love the Atonement so much that words don’t even describe, and I tried all my might to teach it with the seriousness and sacredness of its nature. The spirit helped teach that lesson so much and I pray that the class members received it under that same spirit. I really tried to stress to them that believing in Jesus Christ is more than just saying it — its living it. I asked them if Jesus Christ has really entered their heart and their life. If he has, you will think differently, you will act differently, and you will speak differently. That’s the power the Atonement has. It makes you want to do all you can to be better and no more desire to do evil and follow after your own heart. So I ask you guys the same thing. Has Jesus Christ really entered your heart? If not, I would encourage you to get on your knees and pray…pray to make the Atonement more real. And I promise that if you do, Heavenly Father will respond. It’s gotta be with real intent though. Intent to act on the answer you get. The lesson went really well and Hid I even used an email that you sent me one time…one that has helped me so much and that I read often. The one where you told me about the realization you had about the Atonement. Hid that thing was written so well and the way you shared it was just perfect so I read the email to them and the spirit was really strong…even though Hid you are not on a mission right now like you wish you were, your precious testimony of the Atonement was shared and able to touch hearts just like you expressed in your email…your earnest desire to share that testimony. So I thank you for taking the time to write that. You are awesome.

Anywho, so the work is going so well and it’s been great. We have a busy week this week…Sister Whitehead is still adjusting…she says I’m working her to death but it’s good for her haha. We still have 3 baptisms lined up for the 20th but Satan is working his hardest to not let that happen. Then this Saturday we have an activity planned at the church where all the members are invited and they are supposed to bring a friend. We will be watching the Testament at the church so I pray that that goes well and is a success. Sister Whitehead and I have set a goal to find a family, so hopefully this will help. Well I gotta jet. We had a zone activity on an active volcano called Canla-On and went to some waterfalls and now I am burnt to a crisp and still happy! I love you all take care

Sister Johnson

PS: COLBY HAPPY BIRTHDAY YOU STUD!! YOU ARE SO STUDLY AND MANLY AND A FATHER! WOW IN THE GARDEN OF EDEN I CANT WAIT! You are awesome and hope you have a great day. There was an Elder who has the same birthday as you so when we sang to him I was really singing to you! Love ya. Say hi to the babe (Tara) and Kamusta ka to my cute little niece!

Responses

  1. Kelsey you are a life line of fun, optimism, strengthen and love. What a fantastic testimony of the atonement of Christ and the questions you asked are great. I love what you said, “I asked them if Jesus Christ has really entered their heart and their life. If he has, you will think differently, you will act differently, and you will speak differently. That’s the power the Atonement has. It makes you want to do all you can to be better and no more desire to do evil and follow after your own heart”. These words are pure truth!

  2. Kelsey, we love your blog and enjoy reading your comments from time to time. We can’t believe how fast your mission has flown by. You’ve obviously been a huge force for good over there. We’re anxious to see you in a few short months and resume our infamous Nerts games! In the meantime, finish strong and don’t bring back any of those nasty looking bugs!
    David & Sharron


Leave a Reply

Categories

